The Cold, Cold Ground : Detective Sean Duffy Series

  • by Adrian McKinty
  • Narrated by Gerard Doyle
  • Series: Detective Sean Duffy Series
  • 10 hrs and 3 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Adrian McKinty was born in Carrickfergus, Northern Ireland. He studied politics and philosophy at Oxford before moving to America in the early 1990s. Living first in Harlem, he found employment as a construction worker, barman, and bookstore clerk. In 2000 he moved to Denver to become a high school English teacher and it was there that he began writing fiction.
In 2009 he moved to Melbourne, Australia, with his wife and two children. His first full-length novel, Dead I Well May Be, was short-listed for the 2004 Ian Fleming Steel Dagger Award and its sequel, The Dead Yard, was selected as one of the twelve best novels of the year by Publishers Weekly.
In 2008 his debut young adult novel, The Lighthouse Land, was short-listed for the 2008 Young Hoosier Award and the 2008 Beehive Award. The final novel in the Dead trilogy, The Bloomsday Dead, was long-listed for the 2009 World Book Day Award.
In 2011 Falling Glass was an Best Thriller.


What the Critics Say

“McKinty is a streetwise, energetic gunslinger of a writer, firing off volleys of sassy dialogue and explosive action that always delivers what it has promised.” (Irish Times)
“What makes McKinty a cut above the rest is the quality of his prose. His driven, spat-out sentences are more accessible than James Ellroy's edge-of-reason staccato, and he can be lyric.” (The Guardian)
“If Raymond Chandler had grown up in Northern Ireland, The Cold Cold Ground is what he would have written.” (The Times, London)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Lord knows the Troubles I've seen

Enjoyable story, well narrated. Gives a great snapshot of a time and a place. Who'd have been in the RUC? Grim business and an unusual perspective
Read full review


Loved this!

My sister recommended this series of books to me; she also recommended listening to Audiobooks which I'd not really considered before. I love reading books and I found the extra dimension of listening really added to my enjoyment of this - at times - gritty whodunit. It's set in early 1980s, a time I was living in southern Ireland and a very tense time for residents north and south of the border. Coincidentally, on BBC, there was a documentary about the hunger strikers. Listening to the audiobook inspired me to watch this programme and research more around the subject. I found the narrator to be excellent and I liked the main protagonist. I'll definitely be reading / listening to some more of these.
Read full review

- roadrunner

Book Details

  • Release Date: 11-01-2012
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.