The Complaints : Malcolm Fox

  • by Ian Rankin
  • Narrated by James Macpherson
  • Series: Malcolm Fox
  • 13 hrs and 23 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Nobody likes The Complaints - they're the cops who investigate other cops.
Complaints and Conduct Department, to give them their full title, but known colloquially as 'the Dark Side', or simply 'The Complaints'.
Malcolm Fox works for The Complaints. He's just had a result, and should be feeling good about himself. But he's middle-aged, sour and unwell. He also has a father in a care home and a sister who persists in an abusive relationship. In the midst of an aggressive Edinburgh winter, the reluctant Fox is given a new task. There's a cop called Jamie Breck, and he's dirty.
Problem is, no one can prove it. But as Fox takes on the job, he learns that there's more to Breck than anyone thinks. This knowledge will prove dangerous, especially when murder intervenes.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Brilliant introduction to Malcolm Fox

I've been a fan of Rebus for years and was sceptical of a Rankin Edinburgh book with a different central character, but I was pleasantly surprised.

If anything I enjoyed The Complaints more than the later Rebus books. Learning more of Fox's character and situation as the book progressed was intriguing. I look forward to my next Malcolm Fox instalment.
Read full review

- Helen

Fox meets Rebus

I've always loved the Rebus books so thought I'd try one without him. On certain levels they have similar characters - flawed, rule breakers an awkward sibling. I think they became to respect each other after "Saints of the Shadow Bible": but different enough to be their own men. I really enjoyed this book and would recommend it to any fan of Ian Rankin. The reading by The magnificent James MacPherson is once again superlative.
Read full review

- Mrs. D. Smith

Book Details

  • Release Date: 24-10-2014
  • Publisher: Orion Publishing Group