The Confession

  • by Jo Spain
  • Narrated by Michele Moran, Christopher Bonwell
  • 10 hrs and 43 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

You find out who did it in the very first minute. In the last, you'll find out why.
Late one night a man walks into the luxurious home of disgraced banker Harry McNamara and his wife Julie. The man launches an unspeakably brutal attack on Harry as a horror-struck Julie watches, frozen by fear.
Just an hour later the attacker, JP Carney, has handed himself in to the police. He confesses to beating Harry to death, but JP claims that the assault was not premeditated and that he didn't know the identity of his victim. With a man as notorious as Harry McNamara, the detectives cannot help wondering, was this really a random act of violence or is it linked to one of Harry's many sins: corruption, greed, betrayal?
This gripping psychological thriller will have you questioning, who - of Harry, Julie and JP - is really the guilty one? And is Carney's surrender driven by a guilty conscience or is his confession a calculated move in a deadly game?
The most gripping psychological thriller of 2018. Perfect for fans of He Said, She Said and The Couple Next Door.


What the Critics Say

"I can't praise The Confession enough. Brilliant writing, great story...a really cracking read." (BA Paris, author of Behind Closed Doors and The Breakdown)
"Enthralling - Spain dissects her characters' secrets with razor-sharp precision." (JP Delaney, author of The Girl Before)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

I cannot rate this book highly enough.

What made the experience of listening to The Confession the most enjoyable?

It seems that most books of this type now have to have a 'twist' to make them memorable. I wouldn't say that this book necessarily had a twist but it left the listener thinking and determining. The narration was first class and the Irish turns of phrase were enjoyable at the start, before we then got into the depth of the story. It was accurate in its depiction of the rise and fall in Ireland and there was a nod to all things that were corrupt at the time. I loved this book and came across it by accident. I will certainly be looking out for Jo Spain again.

Which character – as performed by Michele Moran and Christopher Bonwell – was your favourite?

Without a doubt, JP was the favourite character but as far as all the other characters were portrayed, it was easy to completely get to grips with them, likeable or not.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Yes, but time wouldn't allow. However, I think I managed it over three days.

Any additional comments?

I am going to investigate Jo Spain's other novels. I think I love her.

Read full review

- Deirdre More

the confession.

I don't usually like these types of books but this one kept me thinking with lots of twists and turns.
Read full review

- jo-dee sutton

Book Details

  • Release Date: 11-01-2018
  • Publisher: Quercus