The Cracked Spine : Scottish Bookshop Mystery Series

  • by Paige Shelton
  • Narrated by Carrington MacDuffie
  • Series: Scottish Bookshop Mystery Series
  • 7 hrs and 56 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In need of a good adventure, Delaney Nichols takes the leap and moves to Edinburgh, Scotland, to start a job at The Cracked Spine. She doesn't know much about what she's gotten herself into other than that the work sounds exciting and that her new boss, Edwin MacAlister, has given her the opportunity of a lifetime.
When she arrives, she meets her new Scottish family; also working at The Cracked Spine are Rosie, perpetually wrapped in scarves, who always has tiny dog Hector in tow; Hamlet, a 19-year-old thespian with a colored past and a bright future; and Edwin, who is just as enigmatic and mysterious as Delaney expected.
But before she can settle in to her new life, a precious artifact - a previously undiscovered first folio of Shakespeare's plays - goes missing, and Edwin's sister is murdered, seemingly in connection to the missing folio. Delaney decides to do some sleuthing of her own to find out just what the real story is behind the priceless folio and how it's connected to the tragic death - all without getting harmed herself.


What the Critics Say

"As warm and inviting as a cup of tea and a serving of fresh-from-the-oven shortbread." (Ellery Adams, author of Writing All Wrongs)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


I cannot believe that I spent money on this book. The story is weak and the narration was quite awful. No idea from what part of Scotland the accents were supposed to come but ..........
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Slow.There are better cosy mysteries out there.

Very slow and quite dull. Delaney had just arrived in Scotland and I didn't understand why she took it upon herself to interrogate people and try to solve the murder of a person she had never met. I plodded along with this book to finish it but I won't be reading any more of the series. I've read one other book by the same author and also found it quite mundane.
Read full review

- Inishowen Cailin

Book Details

  • Release Date: 29-03-2016
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio