The Crooked House

  • by Christobel Kent
  • Narrated by Rachel Atkins
  • 11 hrs and 5 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

One fateful night. One unthinkable family tragedy. One survivor. This is Alison's story.
Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train and Apple Tree Yard, this stunning psychological thriller follows one woman's search for the truth about her family history. Alison is as close to anonymous as she can get: With no ties and a backroom job, hers is a life lived under the radar. But once Alison was someone else: Once she was Esme, a teenager whose bedroom sat at the top of a remote house on a bleak estuary. A girl whose family, if not happy exactly, was no unhappier than anyone else's - or so she thought.
Then one night violence was unleashed in the crooked house, in a nightmare that only Alison survived and from which she's been running ever since. Only when she falls for the charismatic Paul does Alison realise that to have any chance of happiness, she must return to her old life and face a closed community full of dark secrets.
As she seeks to uncover the truth of what happened that terrible night, Alison begins to question everything she thought she knew. Is there anyone she can trust?

More

Audible Editor Reviews

One of the most suspenseful audiobooks on the market, The Crooked House is written by Christobel Kent and grippingly narrated by Rachel Atkins. This complete and unabridged psychological thriller will have you listening compulsively. Alison, the young lone survivor in her family's massacre, has moved into a new life. It's not until adulthood when she realises she will never be happy until she finds closure with her past. Is Alison's return to the scene of her family's murder putting her in the path of this monstrous killer again? A brilliant listen for thriller enthusiasts and newcomers alike. Available now from Audible.

More

What the Critics Say

"An utterly compulsive psychological thriller. I loved it." (SJ Watson, author of Before I Go to Sleep, on The Crooked House)
"Brilliant...A spooky, gripping and affecting story." (Louise Doughty, author of Apple Tree Yard, in the Guardian)
"Compulsive, unsettling and scary as hell." (Sunday Mirror)
"Echoes of Christie and du Maurier in this fine thriller." (Sunday Times)
"Demands to be devoured in one sitting." (Good Housekeeping)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Best book Iv listened to this year

Fabulous story. Great characters, kept me guessing the whole way through - so credible. Loved every bit of this book! I'm now going to my next Christobel Kent book!
Read full review

- Pam

A place and people forgotten by the world

The best parts of the story are the descriptions of the bleak estuary environment. This is a place easily accessible from Liverpool Street Station but at the same time remote and inescapable by the local people who scratch out a meagre living. Outsiders are not always welcomed by a suspicious and closed in community, and it is therefore of little surprise that this was the scene of a horrific family massacre. This is the story is of Alison, the sole survivor who is trying to find out the truth about what happened when she was a child. This is further embellished by her peculiar relationship with her much older boyfriend and his sinister ex-girlfriend. This part is very like the Daphne Du Maurier book Rebecca, and is very enjoyable. Unfortunately the unravelling of the murder mystery does become confused and muddled, and I had to wind the book back several times to maintain my grip.

The slightly over the top ending does draw matters to a satisfying conclusion and so I am therefore more than happy to give this a four star rating. The author is clearly talented and I am interested in reading more from her.
Read full review

- Kaggy

Book Details

  • Release Date: 23-04-2015
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio UK