Editor reviews

The Cuckoo’s Calling is Book 1 of the brilliant Cormoran Strike series written by Robert Galbraith with this unabridged crime thriller audiobook edition narrated by English actor Robert Glenister. A beautiful model falls from a snow-covered Mayfair balcony and suicide is suspected. Private Investigator Cormoran Strike knows better, suspecting as always foul play is at hand. Delving deep into the young model’s past he is unwittingly embroiled in the dangerous web of crime that is rife throughout the city of London. Available now from Audible.
Show More Show Less

Summary

When a troubled model falls to her death from a snow-covered Mayfair balcony, it is assumed that she has committed suicide. However, her brother has his doubts, and calls in private investigator Cormoran Strike to look into the case. Strike is a war veteran - wounded both physically and psychologically - and his life is in disarray. The case gives him a financial lifeline, but it comes at a personal cost: the more he delves into the young model's complex world, the darker things get - and the closer he gets to terrible danger…
A gripping, elegant mystery steeped in the atmosphere of London - from the hushed streets of Mayfair to the backstreet pubs of the East End to the bustle of Soho - The Cuckoo's Calling is a remarkable book. Introducing Cormoran Strike, this is a classic crime novel in the tradition of P. D. James and Ruth Rendell, and marks the beginning of a unique series of mysteries.
Robert Glenister has performed with both the National Theatre and the RSC. He has worked extensively on radio and television and is probably best known for his roles as Ash Morgan in the BBC's Hustle and as the Home Secretary in 5 series of Spooks.
©2013 Robert Galbraith (P)2013 Hachette Digital
Show More Show Less

Critic reviews

" The Cuckoo's Calling reminds me why I fell in love with crime fiction in the first place." (Val McDermid)
"One of the most unique and compelling detectives I've come across in years" (Mark Billingham)
"One of the best crime novels I have ever read." (Alex Gray)
"Just once in a while a private detective emerges who captures the public imagination in a flash. And here is one who might well do that… There is no sign that this is Galbraith’s first novel, only that he has a delightful touch for evoking London and capturing a new hero. An auspicious debut" ( Daily Mail)
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £19.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Buy Now for £19.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Nick Moore on 15-07-13

Excellent

Well, with great timing, I had just finished this book and was telling people what an interesting story it was when we find out it's written by JK Rowling!

That aside, it is very well written and superbly read by Robert Glenister, handling the different accents with ease. The story is one that pans out quite nicely and I think you can see the ending coming but it doesn't detract from what is a very entertaining listen. The interplay between the major characters works very well for me and I am looking forward to a sequel.

Read more Hide me

48 of 48 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Mrs on 30-04-13

The Cuckoo's Calling

I rarely add reviews but had to for this book! Once I started the book I was glued to my earphones completely. Brilliant 'who done it' with no lull points. The only downside is it finished and there isn't another in the series.... yet I hope!

Read more Hide me

39 of 39 people found this review helpful

See all reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Jane on 29-07-13

Hopefully this is the first of a series

Surely the sign of a really good book is when the last words have been spoken and listeners find themselves disappointed at having been abruptly separated from people and events that have been a real part of their lives (in this case for nearly16 hours). Well, if that is the case then this qualifies as a Really Good Book -- it ticks all the boxes.

The narrator: great voice, acted out the roles very convincingly (change of accents and voices very well done) and, best of all, didn't differentiate male and females voices through changing pitch. The writing was vivid. Elegant and succinct prose endowed each sentence an energy which created settings and personal characteristics.

While this was a crime mystery, that was only part of it. In fact, despite the urgency of the plot, for me the people became the most interesting aspect because The Cuckoo's Calling (clever title) was also the story of the lives of many individuals. Cormoran Strike, for example, is the detective, but he has his own compelling story which entwines throughout the central plot. I found myself caring about his well-being along with the decisions that Robyn will make about her life direction, and I was also repelled by, or drawn to the many other characters that moved in and out of my life through this book.

I had not read any of J K Rowling (Robert Galbraith) before but this book demonstrates what a talented writer she is and why she has been so very successful. I hope this is the beginning of a series.

Read more Hide me

10 of 10 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Dylan Tusler on 26-07-13

Really pleasing mystery

I hope that JK Rowling's outing as the author of this novel doesn't discourage her from publishing any followups, because I really enjoyed it.

The style is very paced. It is a mystery that slowly unfolds, with no car chases, or mad escapes against the odds, just a pair of intelligent, observant people making steady progress towards solving a mystery.

The dialogue is engaging, and the reader (Robert Glenister) does a fantastic job with the voice characterisations. I only lost track of the characters (and there is quite a large cast) one time.

I liked how the scenes were painted in the mind's eye. You could feel the light in the room, or hear the sounds of distant children playing. It was literature written with a painter's eye.

The resolution is satisfyingly twisty, you will likely deduce some or most of the story, but probably not all of it.

A couple of minor issues:

The police characters were caricatures of ineptitude, and a little unbelievable. The quantity of swearing from some characters was a bit distracting though again, the narrator does a great job. Otherwise a very fun read, and I look forward to more in the same vein.

Read more Hide me

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

See all reviews