The Cuckoo's Calling : Cormoran Strike

  • by Robert Galbraith
  • Narrated by Robert Glenister
  • Series: Cormoran Strike
  • 15 hrs and 53 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

When a troubled model falls to her death from a snow-covered Mayfair balcony, it is assumed that she has committed suicide. However, her brother has his doubts, and calls in private investigator Cormoran Strike to look into the case. Strike is a war veteran - wounded both physically and psychologically - and his life is in disarray. The case gives him a financial lifeline, but it comes at a personal cost: the more he delves into the young model's complex world, the darker things get - and the closer he gets to terrible danger...
A gripping, elegant mystery steeped in the atmosphere of London - from the hushed streets of Mayfair to the backstreet pubs of the East End to the bustle of Soho - The Cuckoo's Calling is a remarkable book. Introducing Cormoran Strike, this is a classic crime novel in the tradition of P. D. James and Ruth Rendell, and marks the beginning of a unique series of mysteries.
Robert Glenister has performed with both the National Theatre and the RSC. He has worked extensively on radio and television and is probably best known for his roles as Ash Morgan in the BBC's Hustle and as the Home Secretary in 5 series of Spooks.

More

Audible Editor Reviews

The Cuckoo's Calling is Book 1 of the brilliant Cormoran Strike series written by Robert Galbraith with this unabridged crime thriller audiobook edition narrated by English actor Robert Glenister. A beautiful model falls from a snow-covered Mayfair balcony and suicide is suspected. Private Investigator Cormoran Strike knows better, suspecting as always foul play is at hand. Delving deep into the young model's past he is unwittingly embroiled in the dangerous web of crime that is rife throughout the city of London. Available now from Audible.

More

What the Critics Say

"The Cuckoo's Calling reminds me why I fell in love with crime fiction in the first place." (Val McDermid)
"One of the most unique and compelling detectives I've come across in years" (Mark Billingham)
"One of the best crime novels I have ever read." (Alex Gray)
"Just once in a while a private detective emerges who captures the public imagination in a flash. And here is one who might well do that... There is no sign that this is Galbraith's first novel, only that he has a delightful touch for evoking London and capturing a new hero. An auspicious debut" (Daily Mail)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Excellent Listen

Never having written a review before I felt compelled to do so in this case. Not only did I enjoy the well constructed narrative and characters thought that Robert Glenister's potrayal was superb. I felt as if I were watching a movie in my head and he seemed to be able to give the voices to each character just as I imagined. I shall certainly look for this author and the sublime Robert Glenister again when chosing from Audible.
Read full review

- Mad About Books

Oh, this is GOOD!

I took a chance on this book based on some of the reviews and am very glad I did. The plot was satisfyingly complicated with several blind alleys and misdirection that kept me guessing till the end.

Galbraith's characterisation of his main protagonists is also very good. I found myself quickly sympathising with them and impatient to read more.

I thoroughly enjoyed Glenister's reading, the characters' voices are distinct and his pacing is excellent.

I'm really looking forward to the follow-up - I hope there's going to be one!
Read full review

- Jill "I'm an avid reader and my choice of books is pretty eclectic. The heavier stuff I still read, but I love audible books for lighter stuff!"

Book Details

  • Release Date: 18-04-2013
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio UK