The Cuckoo's Calling : Cormoran Strike

  • by Robert Galbraith
  • Narrated by Robert Glenister
  • Series: Cormoran Strike
  • 15 hrs and 53 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

When a troubled model falls to her death from a snow-covered Mayfair balcony, it is assumed that she has committed suicide. However, her brother has his doubts, and calls in private investigator Cormoran Strike to look into the case. Strike is a war veteran - wounded both physically and psychologically - and his life is in disarray. The case gives him a financial lifeline, but it comes at a personal cost: the more he delves into the young model's complex world, the darker things get - and the closer he gets to terrible danger…
A gripping, elegant mystery steeped in the atmosphere of London - from the hushed streets of Mayfair to the backstreet pubs of the East End to the bustle of Soho - The Cuckoo's Calling is a remarkable book. Introducing Cormoran Strike, this is a classic crime novel in the tradition of P. D. James and Ruth Rendell, and marks the beginning of a unique series of mysteries.
Robert Glenister has performed with both the National Theatre and the RSC. He has worked extensively on radio and television and is probably best known for his roles as Ash Morgan in the BBC's Hustle and as the Home Secretary in 5 series of Spooks.

More

Audible Editor Reviews

The Cuckoo's Calling is Book 1 of the brilliant Cormoran Strike series written by Robert Galbraith with this unabridged crime thriller audiobook edition narrated by English actor Robert Glenister. A beautiful model falls from a snow-covered Mayfair balcony and suicide is suspected. Private Investigator Cormoran Strike knows better, suspecting as always foul play is at hand. Delving deep into the young model's past he is unwittingly embroiled in the dangerous web of crime that is rife throughout the city of London. Available now from Audible.

More

What the Critics Say

"The Cuckoo's Calling reminds me why I fell in love with crime fiction in the first place." (Val McDermid)
"One of the most unique and compelling detectives I've come across in years" (Mark Billingham)
"One of the best crime novels I have ever read." (Alex Gray)
"Just once in a while a private detective emerges who captures the public imagination in a flash. And here is one who might well do that… There is no sign that this is Galbraith’s first novel, only that he has a delightful touch for evoking London and capturing a new hero. An auspicious debut" (Daily Mail)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Keep an open mind!

Don't be put off by the fact J K Rowling wrote this (and the excellent follow ups). I've never read a jot of Harry Potter, and didn't like The Casual Vacancy, but this book is excellent. Really good plot, enough character but not too much to get in the way, a good paced slow building tension and great denouement. The narrator is excellent.
Read full review

- Miss

Hooked from the off

What did you like most about The Cuckoo's Calling?

The quality of the characterisation is amplified by the quality of Robert Glanister's narration. So many characters, superbly brought to life by Glannister. Made for TV, with the said narrator in the leading role


What other book might you compare The Cuckoo's Calling to, and why?

Not sure. It's a detective crime thriller and I'd say it should compare or exceed many similar books, but I can't say I've read/heard one to make such a comparison.


What does Robert Glenister bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

Pretty much covered, other than to add that he has audible abilities that are hard to beat


Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

No. I never do. Leaves you wanting for me if broken in to hourly slots.


Any additional comments?

I'll ourchase Robert Galbraith's other crime thrillers in this series. Recommend you do the same, you won't be sorry.

Read full review

- Andy

Book Details

  • Release Date: 18-04-2013
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio UK