The Devil's Assassin : Jack Lark

  • by Paul Fraser Collard
  • Narrated by Dudley Hinton
  • Series: Jack Lark
  • 11 hrs and 53 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The bold hero of The Scarlet Thief and The Maharajah's General in an exhilarating and dangerous new adventure.
Bombay, 1857. Jack Lark is living precariously as an officer when his heroic but fraudulent past is discovered by the devil - Major Ballard, the army's intelligence officer. Ballard is gathering a web of information to defend the British Empire, and he needs a man like Jack on his side. Not far away, in Persia, the Shah is moving against British territory and, with the Russians whispering in his ear, seeks to conquer the crucial city of Herat.
The empire's strength is under threat, and the army must fight back. As the British march to war, Jack learns that secrets crucial to the campaign's success are leaking into their enemies' hands. Ballard has brought him to the battlefield to end a spy's deceit. But who is the traitor?
The Devil's Assassin sweeps Jack Lark through a thrilling tale of explosive action as the British face the Persian army in the inky darkness of the desert night.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Fast moving intriguing tale

Where does The Devil's Assassin rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

This amongst the best Audio historical fiction books I have listened to.

What did you like best about this story?

The pace and the continuous action

Which character – as performed by Dudley Hinton – was your favourite?

Jack Lark

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?


Any additional comments?

I enjoyed it so much I downloaded more from the series.

Read full review

- I


The third instalment of the adventures of Jack Lark. Brilliantly written and immerses the reader in a world of battles and strong characters.
I have downloaded the next instalment and can't wait for some more historical fiction.
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Book Details

  • Release Date: 14-07-2016
  • Publisher: Headline