Summary

A white-knuckle crime debut introducing DI Meg Dalton, perfect for fans of Broadchurch and Happy Valley.
The devil is coming....
A shocking death.
A lawyer is found dead in a Peak District cave, his face ribboned with scratches.
A sinister message.
Amidst rumours of a local curse, DI Meg Dalton is convinced this is cold-blooded murder. There's just one catch - chiselled into the cave wall above the body is an image of the grim reaper and the dead man's initials, and it's been there for over a century.
A deadly game.
As Meg battles to solve the increasingly disturbing case, it's clear someone knows her secrets. The murderer is playing games with Meg - and the dice are loaded....
©2018 Roz Watkins (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers Limited
Show More Show Less

Critic reviews

"A fabulous book. I can't wait to meet DI Meg Dalton again." (B A Paris)
"An outstanding debut. The Devil's Dice had me gripped from the start." (Stephen Booth)
" The Devil's Dice encapsulates the dark heart of the Peaks and enthrals the reader with its clever and compelling plot." (Sarah Ward)
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £12.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Buy Now for £12.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Clematis on 09-03-18

Superb - looking forward to more in this series

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

This is a gripping story, with the sparky DI Meg Dalton as the very likeable lead character.

Read more Hide me

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

3 out of 5 stars
By Amazon Customer on 09-06-18

A generous 3 stars

Narration was very good and probably enabled me to get to the end of a very silly storyline. I got this book based on the reviews and am now of the firm belief that I must have been listening to something totally different from most other reviewers. Meg Dalton is a DI in the police force. I am not, but any, or indeed all mention of her job and how she does it seemed to show a definite lack of understanding of the job description or how the police work. Other snippets of information we are fed (probability theory, genetic disease, dark web, assisted suicide etc etc) seemed to be integrated into the plot line in a way that could have been so, so much better. I kept thinking the author had a potentially great idea but couldn't be bothered to undertake anything but the most basic research, and I use that term very loosely, to inform the reader and, of course, herself to write the book. Very disappointing.

Read more Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
2 out of 5 stars
By MotleyZoo on 19-03-18

Good story idea, mediocre execution

This story has several interesting elements and a lot of potential, but the author's inability to conceal her personal animus to anything religious and her superficial, overly simplified presentation of the sanctity of life vs. euthanasia argument made the plot tiresome and the villain tediously obvious.

Read more Hide me

1 of 3 people found this review helpful

3 out of 5 stars
By Roberta Scott on 15-04-18

Not to my taste

Too much noncontributory detail.
Unable to complete. Early on determined what I thought motivated behaviors. Book went on too long.
De gustabus.

Read more Hide me

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all reviews