The Devil's Workshop : Scotland Yard's Murder Squad

  • by Alex Grecian
  • Narrated by Nigel Carrington
  • Series: Scotland Yard's Murder Squad
  • 8 hrs and 35 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

April, 1890: London wakes to the shocking news of a mass prison escape. The Scotland Yard Murder Squad now face a desperate race against time: If they don't re-capture the four convicted murderers before night settles, they'll vanish into the dark alleys of the London's criminal underworld forever. And in the midst of this mayhem and fear, the city's worst nightmare is realised: Jack the Ripper haunts the streets of London once more.


What the Critics Say

"Will keep you riveted from page one" (Jeffrey Deaver)
"Throw in deranged prostitutes, poisonings and throat slittings galore, amidst lashings of London fog. Gory, lurid and tons of guilty fun" ( Guardian)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Alex Grecian gets better

Alex Grecian gets better with each book. Excellent narration of a great story. Looking forward to the next installment.
Read full review

- Muggsy

As an Alex Grecian fan.......

Would you say that listening to this book was time well-spent? Why or why not?

It started out so well, I loved the books leading up to this one, and initially I was not disappointed..... but the further I got the less I liked. It is all so gory, which I can deal with but Jack simply takes over from the general well loved characters and left me cold.

What was the most interesting aspect of this story? The least interesting?

I think the concept was very good, if only the author had not become obsessed with Jack, much lost when the true people we came here for are overshadowed

What about Nigel Carrington’s performance did you like?

This was good - no fault. Good clear diction, lots of feeling, emotive and easy to follow

Do you think The Devil's Workshop needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?

I know it has a follow up book and it most certainly will not be in my wish list

Any additional comments?

I was so excited to start this book.but its telling that I didnt finish reading it -

Read full review

- sams247

Book Details

  • Release Date: 31-07-2014
  • Publisher: Whole Story Audio