The Drowning : Fjallbacka Mysteries

  • by Camilla Lackberg
  • Narrated by Eamonn Riley
  • Series: Fjallbacka Mysteries
  • 15 hrs and 28 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

is Swedish crime sensation and number-one international best seller Camilla Läckberg’s new psychological thriller - for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbø.
Christian Thydell has been receiving anonymous threats since he began writing his novel, The Mermaid. When one message, secreted within a bouquet of flowers, causes him to collapse at the book's launch party, crime writer Erica Falck is compelled to investigate. Erica’s husband, detective Patrik Hedström, meanwhile, is puzzled by the disappearance of Christian’s friend Magnus Kjellner four months previously.
When a body is found frozen in the sea near Fjallbacka, he has a murder enquiry on his hands. Someone carries an intense hatred for Christian and his circle, and they won’t hesitate to turn their threats into reality. Clues in his debut novel, The Mermaid, point to a horrific secret buried deep in his past. One that someone will go to any lengths to keep hidden...

More

What the Critics Say

"Mesmerising.... It’s Läckberg’s particular skill to have created two of the most fully rounded characters in contemporary crime fiction, with a warmth that cuts right through the Nordic chill." (Independent)
"Läckberg is an expert at mixing scenes of domestic cosiness with blood-curdling horror…a must for white-knuckle junkies." (Guardian)
"Läckberg is particularly good at portraying the claustrophobia of a small community in which everyone knows everyone else and the police may well be friends with killers." (The Times)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Rather Disappointing

I have read/listened to all the books in the Patrick Hedstrom series by Camilla Lackberg, and up to now I have found them excellent. This book, however, I feel is the weakest so far. While I still enjoyed the interaction of all the various employees of the police station and their family members, the main plot line was quite transparent. I could see the denouement coming a mile away, and was just waiting for it to unravel. There also seemed to be quite a lot of unnecessary filler.

In a nutshell - worth listening to if you enjoy the Patrick Hedstrom novels, but definitely not Lackberg's best.
Read full review

- Nom de Plume

Good plot Love the nitty gritty

I have read all of the books translated into English and love them all I think the characters are well rounded and believable and the stories interesting. I love the day to day banter between the characters especially in Patrik's office. I thought the story line was well thought out and it gave me a few surprises in the end. Enjoyed the narrative and felt it helped the story. Recommended read.
Read full review

- Amelia

Book Details

  • Release Date: 15-03-2012
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited