The English Wife

  • by Lauren Willig
  • Narrated by Barrie Kreinik
  • 14 hrs and 52 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

From New York Times best-selling author Lauren Willig comes a scandalous audiobook set in the Gilded Age, full of family secrets, affairs, and murder. The English Wife is high drama and sure to impress listeners everywhere.
Annabelle and Bayard Van Duyvil live a charmed life in New York: He's the scion of an old Knickerbocker family, she grew up in a Tudor house in England, they had a fairy-tale romance in London, they have three-year-old twins on whom they dote, and he's recreated her family home on the banks of the Hudson and named it Illyria. Yes, there are rumors that she's having an affair with the architect, but rumors are rumors, and people will gossip. But then Bayard is found dead with a knife in his chest on the night of their Twelfth Night Ball; Annabelle goes missing, presumed drowned; and the papers go mad.
Bay's sister, Janie, forms an unlikely alliance with a reporter to try to uncover the truth, convinced that Bay would never have killed his wife, that it must be a third party, but the more she learns about her brother and his wife, the more everything she thought she knew about them starts to unravel. Who were her brother and his wife, really? And why did her brother die with the name George on his lips?


Audible Editor Reviews

What the Critics Say

"A dark, romantic mystery full of twists and turns." (Kirkus Reviews)

"The English Wife is atmospheric, romantic and heart-breaking.... The enthralling story, coupled with Barrie Kreinik's outstanding narration, makes it an audiobook I'd definitely recommend to anyone looking to enjoy an intricate, well-constructed and character-driven mystery." (AudioGals)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Edith Whartonesque Tale with plenty of intrigue

Very enjoyable listen - great story and also well narrated. Modern day version of Edith Wharton
Read full review

- S. Jones

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-01-2018
  • Publisher: Macmillan Audio