The Falls : Inspector Rebus [Abridged]

  • by Ian Rankin
  • Narrated by James Macpherson
  • Series: Inspector Rebus [Abridged]
  • 6 hrs and 56 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A student has gone missing in Edinburgh - completely out of character. She's not just any student, though, but the daughter of extremely well-to-do and influential bankers. There's almost nothing to go on, until Detective Inspector John Rebus gets an unmistakable gut feeling that there's more to this than just another runaway spaced out on unaccustomed freedom, or worse. Two leads emerge: a carved wooden doll in a toy coffin, found in the student's home village, and an Internet role-playing game. It's the ancient and the modern, brought together by uncomfortable circumstance and a curmudgeonly detective happier with long playing records than digital technology.In this powerful novel, Rankin, who "moves dialogue with the precision of a chess-master" (Irish Times), brings together past, present and future in a terrifying duel of good, in the persons of DI Rebus and DC Siobhan Clarke, and evil.


What the Critics Say

"The Falls is an inventive and absorbing book¿highly enjoyable and exciting." (The Scotsman)
"A complex mystery novel, as you would expect from Rankin, one of a handful of truly outstanding British mystery writers....Terrific." (Observer)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Another great 'Rebus'

I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I thought James McPherson's narration was spot on. Ian Rankin manages to come up with very diverse and compelling storylines whilst his main character Rebus muddles his way through life.
Very enjoyable.
Read full review

- Tracey

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-01-2007
  • Publisher: Orion Publishing Group Limited