The Flower Arranger at All Saints

  • by Lis Howell
  • Narrated by Eunice Roberts
  • 13 hrs and 13 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In picturesque Tarnfield in the North of England, feuds and rivalries between villagers typically lie dormant. But the arrival of a new local vicar shakes the community up, bringing together an unlikely alliance between Suzy Spencer, a working mother, part-time television producer and full-time mess, and Robert Clark, a conservative, 'Mr Perfect' widower from the parish. But they are too late to save an unfortunate flower arranger!


What the Critics Say

"Lis howell's Cumbrian roots has made for an interesting novel about the picturesque village of Tarnfield.Feuds and rivalleries lie hidden under its genteel surface." (Books Cumbria)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A bloomin' good read - just not bloomin' well read

I love convoluted murder mysteries set in traditional English villages, so this was right up my street - a sort of Midsummer Murders about 200 miles further north.

Nicely paced, well drawn characters and a slow-burn romance which is easy to spot from the beginning but enjoyable nonetheless.

But - and it's a big but, I'm afraid - the reader drove me mad! I found myself repeating lines after her, putting the emphasis where it should be, rather than where she chose to place it. And everything's delivered just a little more slowly than is comfortable to listen to; made me feel as if I were back in school, taking dictation once more. After I'd shouted at my iPod for the umpteenth time I decided to check other reviewers (this lady has narrated another book available on Audible) and found that I'm not alone in finding her hard to take.

It's a shame, because this is an enjoyable book, and I would definitely by another buy this author. But not if read by this reader. I've rejected books in the past if the voice on the sample isn't pleasing, but this one slipped through my quality control!
Read full review

- Karen

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-04-2009
  • Publisher: Oakhill Publishing Ltd