The Full Cupboard of Life : The No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency

  • by Alexander McCall Smith
  • Narrated by Hilary Neville
  • Series: The No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency
  • 6 hrs and 9 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Mma Ramotswe is still engaged to Mr. J. L. B. Matekoni and wonders when a day for the wedding will be named. But she is anxious to avoid putting too much pressure on her fiancé, for indeed he has other things on his mind - notably a frightening request from the pushy matron of the Orphan Farm. Mma Ramotswe herself has weighty matters to address. She has been approached by a wealthy lady and asked to check up on several suitors. Are these men just interested in her money? This may be difficult to find out, but Mma Ramotswe is, of course, a very intuitive lady.


What the Critics Say

"I haven't read anything with such unalloyed pleasure for a long time." ( Sunday Telegraph)
"I was enchanted by the character of Precious Ramotswe, the sly humour of Alexander McCall Smith's writing and his deft evocation of a culture." ( Anthony Minghella)
"McCall Smith...appears set to become the latest Scottish international bestseller, rivalling the success of fellow Edinburgh authors J. K. Rowling, Ian Rankin and Irvine Welsh." ( Sunday Herald)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Enjoy the sunshine!

When I listen to Ladies Detective Agency books what I'm looking for is to bask in the hot African sun while casually watching my old friends Mma Ramotswe and Mme Makutsi solve life's little problems. This book completely lived up to my hopes.

I felt that this book particularly excels in 'people problems'. How to deal with unreasonable requests, how to broach difficult subjects, how to judge someone's true character. This is one of the things that the series does so well, present relatable issues and deal with them one by one with Smith's wonderful easy charm.

If you want a book as reassuring as a nice cup of tea and your favourite blanket, this is the one.
Read full review

- Alathia

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-08-2008
  • Publisher: ISIS Audio Books