The Further Adventures of Sherlock Holmes

  • by Bert Coules, Andrew Sachs
  • Narrated by full cast, Clive Merrison
  • 2 hrs and 56 mins
  • Radio/TV Program

Publisher's Summary

In the 56 short stories and four novels Arthur Conan Doyle wrote about his great detective, there are many passing references to successful cases that are never actually written about. These four stories, written by the main dramatist on the complete BBC Radio 4 Sherlock Holmes canon, imaginatively flesh out the cases behind those references, to wonderful effect. As in the complete dramatised canon, Clive Merrison plays the great sleuth, with the role of Doctor Watson played by Andrew Sachs. The cast includes Tom Baker, Eleanor Bron, Jane Asher, Tim West, and Toyah Willcox. This volume includes:
The Madness of Colonel Warburton

The Star of the Adelphi

The Saviour of Cripplegate Square

The Singular Inheritance of Miss Gloria Watson


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Clever plotlines in the spirit of the original

These new Sherlock Holmes certainly capture the spirit of the original stories and are beautifully written. There are four dramatised episodes each very well acted and thoroughly enjoyable
Read full review

- S. Wolfe

Best of the series

Any additional comments?

I think the four Further Adventures Of Sherlock Holmes, written by Bert Coules, are the best of all the Sherlock Holmes dramatisations. Don't get me wrong, the others in the series are still five star and should all be downloaded and enjoyed.

But here in Further Adventures there is a far more refined, subtle and satisfying inter-play between Holmes and Watson. It's as if all the other Holmes dramatisations were building up to these four gems. And for that, Bert Coules, I thank you!

Read full review

- Julian Williams

Book Details

  • Release Date: 21-11-2006
  • Publisher: BBC Worldwide Limited