The Ghost Fields : Ruth Galloway

  • by Elly Griffiths
  • Narrated by Clare Corbett
  • Series: Ruth Galloway
  • 9 hrs and 40 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Norfolk is experiencing a July heat wave when a construction crew unearths a macabre discovery - a buried World War II plane with the pilot still inside. Forensic archaeologist Ruth Galloway quickly realizes that the skeleton couldn't possibly be the pilot, and DNA tests identify the man as Fred Blackstock, a local aristocrat who had been reported dead at sea.
When the remaining members of the Blackstock family learn about the discovery, they seem strangely frightened by the news. Events are further complicated by a TV company that wants to make a film about Norfolk's deserted air force bases, the so-called Ghost Fields, which have been partially converted into a pig farm run by one of the younger Blackstocks. As production begins, Ruth notices a mysterious man lurking close to the Blackstocks' family home. Then human bones are found on the family's pig farm.
Can the team outrace a looming flood to find a killer?


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


Quite well read and not a bad story. I would say fits in the cosy crime genre. nothing particlarly nasty. But then nothing great about the story., if a bit silly in places. I would say it could be a third shorter if you take out the long descriptions that have no bearing on the story. But that seems to the norm with these kinds of book. If your after an easy listen this is for you. But don't expect any great literature!

Read full review

- Stewart Webb

Another intriguing Norfolk mystery

I just love the characters in this series and feel as if I know them well.
The story is typically involved with twists and turns that keep the interest when listening.
I can't wait for the next episode to see how the characters develop.
I really like Clare Corbett's performance which is clear, consistent and easy to listen to.
Read full review

- Clare C

Book Details

  • Release Date: 26-03-2015
  • Publisher: Quercus