The Girl Who Kicked the Hornets' Nest : Millennium Series

  • by Stieg Larsson
  • Narrated by Saul Reichlin
  • Series: Millennium Series
  • 25 hrs and 11 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Salander is plotting her revenge - against the man who tried to kill her, and against the government institutions that very nearly destroyed her life. But it is not going to be a straightforward campaign. After taking a bullet to the head, Salander is under close supervision in Intensive Care, and is set to face trial for three murders and one attempted murder on her eventual release.
With the help of journalist Mikael Blomkvist and his researchers at Millennium magazine, Salander must not only prove her innocence, but identify and denounce the corrupt politicians that have allowed the vulnerable to become victims of abuse and violence. Once a victim herself, Salander is now ready to fight back.


What the Critics Say

"With the spiky and sassy Lisbeth Salander - punkish wild child, traumatised survivor of the 'care' system, sexual adventurer and computer hacker of genius - Larsson created the most original heroine to emerge in crime fiction for many years." ( The Independent)
"Complex, satisfying, clever, moral...a grown-up novel for grown-up readers...this is why the Millennium Trilogy is rightly a publishing phenomenon all over the world." (Kate Mosse)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

An engrossing end to the trilogy

I was eager to listen to this final book in the Stieg Larsson trilogy as I'd greatly enjoyed The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo and then the Girl who Played with Fire. One word of advice: listen or read the two previous books before tackling The Girl who Kicked the Hornet's Nest as the latter narrative flows seamlessly from the Girl who Played with Fire and I think a listener would be confused without knowing the back-story and having become familiar with the main characters who are present in all three books. All the books are complicated with lots of characters with Swedish names and places but all are riveting. The stories are of epic proportions combining spies and the security services; crime and its detection; high-level computer hacking; investigative journalism leavened by a fair bit of raunchy descriptions of bed-room scenes.

This final book opens with quite a lot of explanation about the Swedish security service and political system but then takes off with the resolution of
the many threads from the previous books. Much of the book revolves around Lisbeth Salander's trial for serious crimes and journalist Mikael Blomkvist's behind the scenes investigations. The trial scenes are particularly engrossing, and without giving anything away, the cross-examination of the psychiatrist, Dr Teleborian, is a high-light.

The enjoyment and comprehensibility of all the books are greatly enhanced by the superb narration by Saul Reichlin, who is probably the finest audio book reader. Narration is an understatement as he really dramatizes the books by his ability to create different voices for the characters.

Sadly, the author, Stieg Larsson, died prematurely before this trilogy was published and won't know how much pleasure he's given people round the world who've followed the exploits of his weirdly wonderful character, Lisbeth Salander, and the doughty investigative journalist, Mikael Blomkvist.
Read full review

- Kirstine


Really good book. I have throughly enjoyed listening to it. Tried to read the paperback version but could not get in to it. Listening to the story brings it alive.
Read full review

- Rosemary

Book Details

  • Release Date: 20-10-2009
  • Publisher: MacLehose Press