The Girl in the Spider's Web : Millennium Series

  • by David Lagercrantz, George Goulding - translator
  • Narrated by Saul Reichlin
  • Series: Millennium Series
  • 16 hrs and 46 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Mikael Blomkvist is contacted by renowned scientist Professor Balder. Fearing for his life, but more concerned for his son's well-being, Balder wants Millennium to publish his story.
More interesting to Blomkvist than Balder's advances in Artificial Intelligence, is his connection with a certain female superhacker.
It seems that Lisbeth Salander, like Balder, is a target of ruthless cyber gangsters that will soon bring terror to the streets of Stockholm, the Millennium team, and Blomkvist and Salander themselves.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

An unnecessary continuation

I really enjoyed the Millennium trilogy and they finished quite tidily, so i was intrigued by what an addition to the series by another author could bring. The answer, nothing. Unfortunately this is a book that need not have been written. The character development is poor, the story is badly structured and lacks depth. Having finished it I would have no interest in any further additions to the original trilogy. Declan Hughes in the Irish Times, September 26th captures my views quite succinctly:

"Larsson continuation

David Lagercrantz’s The Girl in the Spider’s Web (MacLehose Press, £14.99) is a continuation of Stieg Larsson’s Millennium Trilogy, and will probably outsell any other crime novel published this year. It is ineptly structured (the murder that finally incites the action takes place on page 130, a good 100 pages too late), repetitive, and fatuously in thrall to brands and buzzwords, as if simply naming them brought them to life. It often reads more like a prospectus than a book. Hackers! The Dark Web! Autistic Savants! The Russian Mafia and the NSA!

At its heart, of course, is Lisbeth Salander, that manic pixie dream girl with abuse issues, a scowly face and piercings. Piercings! Salander remains part comic-book superhero, part male fantasy, but she still deserves better than this cynical, curiously disengaged production."

My advice: go back and listen to the original trilogy again instead of investing time in this.
Read full review

- Creamcracker

Oh Dear!

Well, where can I begin?
The opening in introduced with a VERY loud 'ppeerr ppeerr chow' sort of 'music' - it really gave me such a start as I was listening on earphones.
After that introduction things just got worse. before listening I had re-listened to the last of the original trilogy to remind myself of the story.
1. The main characters have all changed their personallities - Clear thinking Blomquist is now a bumbling idiot has-been
2. Erica seems to be called by a different name - was 'Berger' is now 'Beryer' - sorry about spelling have only read audio books. Her husband too - was 'Gregor' is now something different.
3. Erica and Blomquist seem to have changed the tone of their friendship - 'she fell into his arms' - was never the way they were staying together, things were much more matter of fact.
4. At chapter 8 - I started to think - 'Ye Gods - how long does this go on?' - only to discover that I was but a quarter through - I hought I should at least stick it out to half way - but I am now at chapter 10 and really ...... I don't think I can go on with it.
5. Lisbeth has only appeared briefly so far - but her character too seems to be different, no longer the quiet yet forceful individual, she seems far more openly aggressive.
6. I am currently at the stage where I don't really care anyway - so I think I will cut my losses and leave it now.
7 The whole tone of the characters is wrong, I am sure that Mr David Lagercrantz is a good writer in his own way, but this does a mis-service to Stieg Larsson - I have waited so long for this follow on, and am so disappointed, I did so want to enjoy it.
Read full review

- mollyeyre

Book Details

  • Release Date: 27-08-2015
  • Publisher: Quercus