The Girl on the Stairs

  • by Louise Welsh
  • Narrated by Jane Wymark
  • 7 hrs and 14 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Jane Logan is six months pregnant and has moved to Berlin to live with her long-term lover, rich banker Petra. The women's chic new apartment is in a trendy part of the city, but Jane finds herself increasingly uneasy there. She conceives a dread of the derelict backhouse across the courtyard and begins to suspect something sinister is happening in the flat next door, where gynaecologist Alban Mann lives with his teenage daughter, Anna. Petra believes her lover's pregnancy is affecting her judgement, but Jane is increasingly convinced that all is not well. Her decision to turn detective has devastating results when her own past collides with the past of the building and its inhabitants.
A haunting, atmospheric novel from the acclaimed author of The Cutting Room.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

gave up eventually

What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

Different plot

What was most disappointing about Louise Welsh’s story?

Chapter after chapter saying the same thing

What three words best describe Jane Wymark’s voice?

Can't do a Glasgow accent to save herself.

Any additional comments?

You killed your wife! no I didn't. You are abusing your daughter! no I'm not. and so on, and so forth.

Read full review

- Helen

OK but well short of her best work

Louise Welsh's "the cutting room" is a superb book, one of the best thrillers I' ve read in years - available in Audible with a fantastic narration by Robert Carlyle. But her subsequent books though good never reach the same heights. This book is really rather pedestrian with a bit of a confused plot, an odd assortment of characters - and too many for such a short book - and overall, it never really grips. The narration doesn't help - too one paced and the characters are not very well drawn. The book has its moments, particularly towards the end, but I could not recommend it.
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Book Details

  • Release Date: 16-08-2012
  • Publisher: John Murray