The Glittering World

  • by Robert Levy
  • Narrated by Edoardo Ballerini
  • 10 hrs and 11 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

*RECIPIENT OF AUDIOFILE MAGAZINE'S EARPHONES AWARD FOR EXCEPTIONAL AUDIO*
*SHIRLEY JACKSON AWARD NOMINEE*
*LAMBDA LITERARY AWARD FINALIST*
Narrated by Audie Award Winner Edoardo Ballerini (BEAUTIFUL RUINS, MY STRUGGLE)
Directed by Grammy Award Winner David Rapkin (THE HARRY POTTER SERIES)
"In this supernatural thriller, Robert Levy creates a mystical, magical, haunting other world. Edoardo Ballerini provides the tense, suspenseful narration--including some commendable musical numbers--that raises goose bumps on listeners' flesh." (AudioFile Magazine)
"As imaginative and frightening as a whole gallery of surrealist paintings come luridly to life." (John Berendt, author of Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil)
"Well crafted and atmospheric, this will attract readers who enjoy Neil Gaiman and Mark Z. Danielewski." (Library Journal)
When Michael "Blue" Whitley -- a former party boy turned up-and-coming Brooklyn chef -- returns with three friends to the remote Canadian commune of his birth, he discovers that his entire life has been a carefully orchestrated lie. He is in fact someone else altogether, a replacement for a local child who disappeared twenty-five years earlier. He is something not quite human.
Only now it's Blue's turn to vanish, leaving his friends to unravel the mystery of his abduction. Soon, psychology and skepticism collide with old-world folklore and superstition, revealing the secret history of the commune as well as that of an ancient race of beings that inhabits the hidden corners of the land.
Set among the artisans, burnouts, and New Age mystics of rural Cape Breton, The Glittering World is a dark and modern fairy tale, a novel of self-identity and supernatural suspense.

More

What the Critics Say

"In this supernatural thriller, Robert Levy creates a mystical, magical, haunting other world. Edoardo Ballerini provides the tense, suspenseful narration - including some commendable musical numbers - that raises goose bumps on listeners' flesh." (AudioFile Magazine)
"As imaginative and frightening as a whole gallery of surrealist paintings come luridly to life." (John Berendt, author of Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil)
"Well crafted and atmospheric, this will attract readers who enjoy Neil Gaiman and Mark Z. Danielewski." (Library Journal)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

disappointment

The book starts out interesting enough but then it just gets stuck and there is really no intereting side to it, just a very banal story. if you want a good story with a similar fantasy idea try Tad Williams' War of the Flowers. This is a very weak story.
Read full review

- Carmela

Freaky Fairies

The blurb for this makes you think it's going to be a child kidnapping drama, but it's completely different. It is however, just as scary.

Blue has always had that 'wee something' that draws people to him, when his gran leaves her house to him he goes back to see it one last time...and disappears....again! Nature can be just as scary as humans, enjoy it!
Read full review

- sarahmoose2000

Book Details

  • Release Date: 15-03-2016
  • Publisher: Pretty Good Year Audio