The Ice Child : Fjallbacka Mysteries

  • by Camilla Lackberg
  • Narrated by Robin Bowerman
  • Series: Fjallbacka Mysteries
  • 12 hrs and 23 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Number-one international best seller and Swedish crime sensation Camilla Lackberg's new psychological thriller featuring Detective Patrik Hedström and Erica Falck - irresistible for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo.
January, Fjällbacka. A seminaked girl wanders through the woods in freezing cold weather. When she finally reaches the road, a car comes out of nowhere. It doesn't manage to stop. By the time Detective Patrik Hedström receives word of the accident, the girl has already been identified. Four months ago she disappeared on her way home from the local riding school, and no one has seen her since. It quickly becomes clear that she has been subjected to unimaginably brutal treatment. And it's likely she's not the only one.
Meanwhile, Patrik's wife, crime writer Erica Falck, is looking into an old case - a family tragedy that led to a man's death. His wife was convicted of murder, but Erica senses that something isn't right. What is the woman hiding? As Erica digs deeper, the past starts to cast a shadow over the present, and Patrik is forced to see his investigation in a whole new light.

More

What the Critics Say

"The hottest female writer in Sweden." (Independent)
"Heart-stopping and heart-warming...a masterclass in Scandinavian crime writing." (Val McDermid)
"Pacy...with flashing insight into the dark places of the psyche." (Sunday Times)
"Lackberg is an expert at mixing scenes of domestic cosiness with blood-curdling horror." (Guardian)
"Both chilling and thrilling." (Sun)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Audiobook is disappointing - rush job?

I love Camilla Lackberg books but the audio version of the latest is a bit frustrating.
Firstly the narrator gets the authors name wrong ('Camilla Lackberry', more than once), he messed up pronouns of characters, and says a few words incorrectly.
Also the editing is clearly a rush job & there are hardly any pauses when scenes change so it's confusing.
Lastly I don't know if it is the translation or if Camilla Lackberg is not up to par for this book, but the writing, phrases used & descriptions seem a bit lazy (the same sentence used within pages of each other).
The story itself is enjoyable but these annoying issues have really spoiled this for me.
Read full review

- LMV

Questionable translation

Any additional comments?

I agree with the review from LMV. I have listened to all the previous books in the series and enjoyed them. For this one the translation is weak and with Robin Bowerman's mellifluous tone it made the whole experience like listening to an Enid Blyton Famous Five book. The editing too was clearly rushed with hardly a breath taken by Robin Bowerman between scenes so that you lose track of where and when you are in the story. However, the storyline was intriguing if a little far fetched at the end.

Read full review

- Simon W

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-03-2016
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited