The Innocence of Father Brown, Volume 2

  • by G. K. Chesterton
  • Narrated by David Timson
  • 4 hrs and 33 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Here are the six final stories from The Innocence of Father Brown relating the crime-solving adventures of a rather unconventional detective. Having accumulated wisdom and empathy from years of listening to the dark confessions of his parishioners, in a flash Father Brown is able to solve mysteries that confound all others. Here is an eccentric and loveable character that will appeal to fans of the legendary sleuth Sherlock Holmes. The stories are engagingly read by David Timson: "The Wrong Shape", "The Sins of Prince Saradine", "The Hammer of God", "The Eye of Apollo", "The Sign of the Broken Sword", and "The Three Tools of Death".
PLEASE NOTE: When you purchase this title, the accompanying reference material will be available in your My Library section along with the audio.


Audible Editor Reviews

Don't let the quaint title deceive you - this is Chesterton at his most artfully wicked. David Timson excels as gentle Father Brown, as well as the many other diverse characters. Timson's self-effacing tone is just right for Father Brown, and he also boldly taps a variety of British accents to clearly identify both the locale of stories and the class of various characters. The music of Reicha Wind Quintets shines in the interludes between these six stories. Father Brown's considered deductions are irrefutable, employing subtle philosophy and psychology rather than forensic analysis. His thoughtful perspicacity startles even the most confident of criminals.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 19-11-2010
  • Publisher: Naxos AudioBooks