The Janus Stone : Ruth Galloway

  • by Elly Griffiths
  • Narrated by Jane McDowell
  • Series: Ruth Galloway
  • 9 hrs and 51 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Forensic archaeologist Ruth Galloway is called in to investigate when builders, demolishing a large old house in Norwich to make way for a housing development, uncover the bones of a child beneath a doorway - minus the skull. Is it some ritual sacrifice or just plain straightforward murder? DCI Harry Nelson would like to find out - and fast.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Awful use of 'historic present'

This is the only Audible title I have bought but been unable to listen to. The story is told in the 'historic present' - which means 'Ruth gets up and walks across the room; she opens the door and then something else happens...'. Perhaps this would be less noticeable if I were reading it on the page, but hearing it was just unbearably irritating. I think it is made worse by the story (at least the part I listened to) being rather banal - the usual use of the historic present is to build tension in specific contexts, telling the story as if it were happening in 'real time' whereas to have it used for everything including tea with her parents just grates and makes the whole thing seem ridiculous.

Read full review

- Karen

Gripping story

This story had me guessing right up until the end with quite a few twists and turns along the way. I really enjoyed the first of book of this series "Crossing Places" but this is better again. The characters are developing nicely with good resonance between Ruth and the other main protagonists. I found myself listening until 4.30am one morning because I just had to find out what was happening next. I will be buying the third book in the series and I am looking forward to seeing where Ruth's private life develops too!
Read full review

- R. J. Gladden "An avid Audible listener for the past two years, it fits in superbly with my busy lifestyle. Love crime and historical novels most."

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-11-2010
  • Publisher: Audible Studios