The Last Act of Hattie Hoffman

  • by Mindy Mejia
  • Narrated by Caitlin Thorburn, Jeff Harding, John Moraitis
  • 10 hrs and 43 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

No one keeps more secrets. No one is better at hiding them. Haunting, evocative and beautifully written, The Last Act of Hattie Hoffman will grab you and not let you go. Full of twists and turns, with an ending you will never see coming and characters that will stay with you long after the audiobook has finished, The Last Act of Hattie Hoffman is a gripping psychological mystery perfect for fans of Emma Cline's The Girls and Clare Mackintosh's I See You.
'Utterly absorbing and original' Elly Griffiths, author of the Dr Ruth Galloway Mysteries.
Eighteen-year-old Hattie Hoffman is a talented actress, loved by everyone in her Minnesotan hometown. When she's found stabbed to death on the opening night of her school play, the tragedy rips through the fabric of the community.
Sheriff Del Goodman, a close friend of Hattie's dad, vows to find her killer, but the investigation yields more secrets than answers: it turns out Hattie played as many parts offstage as on. Told from three perspectives, Del's, Hattie's high school English teacher and Hattie herself, The Last Act of Hattie HoffmanWonderfully evocative of its Midwestern setting and with a cast of unforgettable characters, this is a book about manipulation of relationships and identity; about the line between innocence and culpability; about the hope love offers and the tragedies that occur when it spins out of control.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Brilliant

I never give 5star reviews but this book deserves *****
Very well written, great combination of sparse and lyrical prose, well plotted story rising and falling in tension to an unexpected conclusion. The story is not original but the revealing of each characters part in the story, their motivations and intentions make it fresh, engrossing and utterly believable. The characters are very well developed and feel grown & grounded in the rural landscape they inhabit. Superbly told by all narrators.
I'm eager to read/listen to Mindy Mejia's next novel.
Read full review

- Kerrie

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-01-2017
  • Publisher: Quercus