The Legacy : Joseph Antonelli

  • by D. W. Buffa
  • Narrated by Mark Feuerstein
  • Series: Joseph Antonelli
  • 5 hrs and 55 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

On a San Francisco street dark and dense with fog, somebody has shot and killed United States Senator Jeremy Fullerton in the front seat of his car. The police arrest Jamaal Washington, a young black man. The case is a career maker, but no attorney in the Bay Area will touch it because of its explosive nature. Which is exactly why outsider Joseph Antonelli leaves the comfort of his Portland, Oregon, practice and heads for "The City" to take on Jamaal's defense. Working for Antonelli are two advantages: his client is a clean-cut pre-med honor student at Berkeley; and the dead senator's many enemies don't mourn - they even welcome - his passing. Working against him is one glaring, seemingly overpowering fact: the inability of the defendant to explain why he was caught with the murder weapon right next to his hand as he lay unconscious, shot in the back as he fled from the scene of the crime. Mounting his defense, Antonelli will unravel a frightening chain of espionage, betrayal, and violent assassination that spirals far beyond the brute simplicities of a common street crime. Determined to win his case and prevail in an unforgiving world, he will face the most personal, most dangerous peril of all, the hazard of becoming a man exactly like Senator Jeremy Fullerton himself, one who knows everyone's secrets and tells everyone lies.

More

What the Critics Say

"D.W. Buffa excels at describing the courtroom tactics of his smart, thoughtful protagonist...and he's a deft hand with pacing, too. Fans of Grisham and Turow who haven't yet made Buffa's acquaintance are in for a very satisfying read." (Amazon.com)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 26-07-2002
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio