The Lewis Man : The Lewis Trilogy

  • by Peter May
  • Narrated by Peter Forbes
  • Series: The Lewis Trilogy
  • 10 hrs and 54 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Shortlisted for Audible Sounds Crime Award
An unidentified corpse is recovered from a peat bog on the Isle of Lewis, Scotland. News of the discovery soon reaches Fin Macleod. However, since swapping his life in Edinburgh for a quiet existence on Lewis, such mysteries are no longer a concern for the former Detective Inspector. Or so he thought. The sequel to the Blackhouse which was selected for the WH Smith Richard and Judy Bookclub, and the second book in the Lewis triology.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Atmospheric sequel to The Blackhouse

Although this book can be enjoyed as a stand-alone novel, you'll get more from it if you listen to the first part of this trilogy of books largely set in the Outer Hebrides. Many of the characters from the first novel re-appear in the Lewis Man in which their lives are moved forward in time. As with The Blackhouse, though ostensibly a detective novel, that aspect of the narrative is just the back-drop to life stories that switch between the 1950s and the present day. There's lots of atmospheric writing about the scenery and weather (!). Along the way we learn more of how life on the islands has changed and social attitudes altered.
Peter Forbes is an excellent narrator who really brought the characters alive for me.
Read full review

- Kirstine


Peter May continues to conjure up the atmosphere of the beautiful Outer Hebrides in this excellent sequel to The Blackhouse. It is a crime novel with a difference and so much more. His portrayal of the character with dementia is sympathetically and realistically drawn. There are parts which are highly emotionally charged. It is extremely cleverly written and the narration is first class. Also I was so happy about the ending. Please listen to The Blackhouse first to get the most out of this book. Can't wait for The Chess Men.
Read full review

- Ann Watson

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-01-2012
  • Publisher: Quercus Publishing