The Lost Empress : Jefferson Tayte Genealogical Mysteries

  • by Steve Robinson
  • Narrated by Simon Vance
  • Series: Jefferson Tayte Genealogical Mysteries
  • 9 hrs and 10 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

From acclaimed author Steve Robinson comes a bold new Jefferson Tayte mystery.
On a foggy night in 1914, the ocean liner Empress of Ireland sank en route to England and now lies at the bottom of Canada’s St Lawrence River. The disaster saw a loss of life comparable to the Titanic and the Lusitania, and yet her tragedy has been forgotten.
When genealogist Jefferson Tayte is shown a locket belonging to one of the Empress' victims, a British admiral’s daughter named Alice Stilwell, he must travel to England to understand the course of events that led to her death.
Tayte is expert in tracking killers across centuries. In The Lost Empress, his unique talents draw him to one of the greatest tragedies in maritime history as he unravels the truth behind Alice’s death amidst a backdrop of pre-WWI espionage.
This is the fourth book in the Jefferson Tayte mystery series, but can be enjoyed as a stand-alone story.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


Loved the story and a great follow on from the other titles. The fact that the stories are based around real historical events adds to the enjoyment. More please
Read full review

- Neil


I loved the past and present woven together to produce a very brilliant plot of historical intrigue and modern day technology. The narrator is great at doing the character voices so it's easy to listen too. I enjoy family history anyway and to have it used in a thriller makes a great story.
Read full review

- Mrs M Scott

Book Details

  • Release Date: 21-10-2014
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio