Summary

Lose yourself in the gripping first novel in a new series of Golden Age murder mysteries set amid the lives of the glamorous Mitford sisters. 
It's 1919, and Louisa Cannon dreams of escaping her life of poverty in London, and most of all her oppressive and dangerous uncle. Louisa's salvation is a position within the Mitford household at Asthall Manor, in the Oxfordshire countryside. There she will become nurserymaid, chaperone and confidante to the Mitford sisters, especially 16-year-old Nancy - an acerbic, bright young woman in love with stories. 
But then a nurse - Florence Nightingale Shore, goddaughter of her famous namesake - is killed on a train in broad daylight, and Louisa and Nancy find themselves entangled in the crimes of a murderer who will do anything to hide their secret.... 
Written by Jessica Fellowes, author of the number one best-selling Downton Abbey books, The Mitford Murders is the perfect new obsession for fans of Daisy Goodwin, Anthony Horowitz and Agatha Christie - and is based on a real unsolved crime.
©2017 Jessica Fellowes (P)2017 Little, Brown Book Group
Show More Show Less

Critic reviews

"Exactly the sort of book you might enjoy with the fire blazing, the snow falling. The solution is neat and the writing always enjoyable." (Anthony Horowitz)
"True and glorious indulgence. A dazzling example of a Golden Age mystery." (Daisy Goodwin)
"Oh how delicious! This terrific start to what promises to be a must-read series is exactly what we all need in these gloomy times? Inventive, glittering, clever, ingenious. I devoured The Mitford Murders...so will you. Give it to absolutely everyone for Christmas, then pre-order the next one." (Susan Hill)
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £19.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Buy Now for £19.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By cdw on 09-10-17

Lovely, lovely, lovely!!!!

Downtown Abbey with murder!!!! And very well read. A pleasure to listen to! Looking forward to the next instalment.

Read more Hide me

10 of 10 people found this review helpful

3 out of 5 stars
By Amazon Customer on 06-01-18

Disappointing

Not a particularly well written story which seemed over long in the telling. The narrator rendered the characters insipid or annoying.

Read more Hide me

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

See all reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
2 out of 5 stars
By GReader on 12-11-17

Not any Mitford I know

This book fails on several counts
1. Nancy Mitford was not ever a rather silly girl as portrayed
2. She would not have fraternised with a servant in the manner described
3. The plot is implausible and relies on at least one unlikely coincidence
4. The resolution is completely implausible
5. The writing is competent but not gripping
There are supposedly 5 more books in the series. I'm sorry I spent money on the first and won't be wasting time on the next five.

Read more Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all reviews