The Mozart Conspiracy : Ben Hope

  • by Scott Mariani
  • Narrated by Colin Mace
  • Series: Ben Hope
  • 11 hrs and 27 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

From the number-one best-selling author.
Former SAS operative Ben Hope is running for his life. Enlisted by the beautiful Leigh Llewellyn - world-famous opera star and Ben's first love - to investigate her brother's mysterious death, Ben finds himself caught up in a centuries-old puzzle. The official line states that Oliver died whilst investigating Mozart's death, but the facts don't add up.
Oliver's research reveals that Mozart, a notable freemason, may have been killed by a shadowy and powerful splinter group of the cult. The only clues lie in an ancient letter, believed to have been written by Mozart himself.
When Leigh and Ben receive video evidence of a ritual sacrifice being performed by hooded men, they realise the sect is still in existence today...and will stop at nothing to remain a secret.
From the dreaming spires of Oxford to Venice's labyrinthine canals, the majestic architecture of Vienna, and Slovenia's snowy mountains, Ben and Leigh must forget the past and race across Europe to uncover the truth behind The Mozart Conspiracy.... An electrifying and utterly gripping must-read for fans of Dan Brown, Sam Bourne, and Ludlum's Bourne series.

More

What the Critics Say

"James Bond meets Jason Bourne meets The Da Vinci Code." (J. L. Carrell, best-selling author of The Shakespeare Secret)
"Deadly conspiracies, bone-crunching action and a tormented hero with a heart.... Scott Mariani packs a real punch." (Andy McDermott, best-selling author of The Secret Vault)
"Full of authentic detail and heart-stopping action - a real thrill ride." (Ed Macy, author of the best-selling Apache)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Ben Hope is Superman!

Scott Mariani has really tried to make this book even more exciting than his first Ben Hope story, and it is packed with action. It has our hero, Ben Hope, struggling for his life, overcoming impossible odds with good luck and ingenuity, but getting his goal in the end.

The story relates to a theory that Mozart was killed by members of a secret society, the Order of Ra. The discovery of a letter he wrote to a friend shortly before his death, in which he expressed his fears that they would kill him for revealing details of their craft in The Magic Flute, has ignited action by Ra who want the letter destroyed. The letter had remained hidden for two centuries until it turned up during the restoration of an old piano, and a musician researching the story was murdered to prevent him making the letter public.

The death of the musician, Oliver Llewellyn, had been made to look like suicide. However, the musician's sister, Leigh Llewellyn, publicised her intention to continue with Oliver's research and this triggered a violent response from the secret society, which apparently still existed. Leigh asked Ben to help her find the manuscript, even though it meant revisiting a relationship which Ben had suddenly terminated when Leigh was nineteen, and together they fought the Order of Ra and found the manuscript.

The book has a well-constructed plot with lots of twists and some horrific detail, and the author brings in snippets of information about Mozart and about places in Europe. Everywhere that Ben goes, Ra is there with a violent response, and the collateral damage is a bit upsetting sometimes. Ben himself appears to be sheathed in Kevlar and will fight again.

Colin Mace made his narration somewhat staccato by always pausing after saying someone's name, but otherwise it was competent and characters were given distinctive and appropriate voices.
Read full review

- Ian

Hooked on Hope

easy listening but at times hard to follow because of the back and forth with past moment of other caricatures (not the main person) history as can end up losing a chapter wondering what's this all about?
But over all a good story with a good twist in the end
Read full review

- Kevin

Book Details

  • Release Date: 19-02-2015
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited