The Nicholas Feast

  • by Pat McIntosh
  • Narrated by Andrew Watson
  • 8 hrs and 18 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Glasgow, 1492: Gil Cunningham remarked later that if he had known he would find a corpse in the university coalhouse, he would never have gone to the Arts Faculty feast. In this mysterious adventure Gil Cunningham returns to his old university for the Nicholas Feast, where he and his colleagues are entertained by a play presented by some of the students. One of the actors, William Irvine, is later found murdered and Gil, assisted by Alys, begins to disentangle a complex web of espionage and blackmail involving William's tutors and fellow students. Matters are further complicated by the arrival of Gil's formidable mother who is determined to inspect his betrothed. Little do Alys and Gil realise that it will be she who provides the final, vital key to unmask the murderer and lay his motives clear.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Gil Cunningham Mystery No.2

Would you say that listening to this book was time well-spent? Why or why not?

Yes - this is an agreeable, atmospheric, who-dunnit.

Which character – as performed by Andrew Watson – was your favourite?

The narrator manages the Scots accent well (maybe he's Scottish I dont know) and I found the voices of the different characters easy to follow. My favourite character is Alys as she is clever and discreet.

Any additional comments?

Great, fairly short mystery that is set in medaeval Scotland. There are lots of historical features and background (and words) that give it authenticity.

Read full review

- AmyAlice

Good follow up book

having enjoyed the harper's quine I looked forward to the Nicholas feast, the second book in the series. only a week has passed since Gil solved the first crime and the author did not disappoint me as she maintained the standards of the first book.
Recommended for those who like historical crime fiction. I am looking forward to the next in the series.
Read full review

- Mrs. K. I. Richards

Book Details

  • Release Date: 28-01-2013
  • Publisher: Audible Studios