The Night Visitor

  • by Lucy Atkins
  • Narrated by Helen Lloyd, Julia Franklin
  • 12 hrs and 12 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

How far would you go to save your reputation? The stunning new noir thriller from the author of the best-selling The Missing One and The Other Child. Perfect for fans of I Let You Go and The Ice Twins.
Professor Olivia Sweetman has worked hard to achieve the life she loves, with a high-flying career as a TV presenter and historian, three children and a talented husband. But as she stands before a crowd at the launch of her new best seller, she can barely pretend to smile. Her life has spiralled into deceit, and if the truth comes out, she will lose everything.
Only one person knows what Olivia has done. Vivian Tester is the socially awkward 60-year-old housekeeper of a Sussex manor who found the Victorian diary on which Olivia's book is based. She has now become Olivia's unofficial research assistant. And Vivian has secrets of her own.
As events move between London, Sussex and the idyllic south of France, the relationship between these two women grows more entangled and complex. Then a bizarre act of violence changes everything.
The Night Visitor is a compelling exploration of ambition, morality and deception that asks the question: how far would you go to save your reputation?

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Ruined for me by Julia Franklin's narration!

This story is unusual and well written, the character's well drawn. I found the main protagonist, Olivia, self obsessed, shallow and generally unlikeable. I warmed to Vivian more. Unfortunately, the experience of listening was ruined by the narration, specifically, that of Julia Franklin. In the early chapters, she moved towards and away from the microphone quite a lot and this resulted in my being unable to set the volume at a good level. Worse, when she voiced any character sounding angry, or upset, and whenever she voiced a child, she became very high pitched. This had me leaping for the volume control and feeling like pulling out my own teeth. There really is no need for it to be read this way. Sadly, a narrator can make or break the experience of listening to an audiobook.
Read full review

- Ann D

Excellent

I enjoyed this novel very much. Well written, well plotted, I felt the characters were very three dimensional. My only complaint was the narrator playing Olivia - a very irritating semi-gabbling way of talking. I found it very distracting, had the novel not been so good I would probably have given up.
Read full review

- DartmoorDiva

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-05-2017
  • Publisher: Quercus Publishing