The Outcasts of Time

  • by Ian Mortimer
  • Narrated by Barnaby Edwards
  • 12 hrs and 1 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

From the author described by The Times as 'the most remarkable historian of our time', this is a stunningly high-concept historical novel, perfect for fans of Conn Iggulden, SJ Parris and Kate Mosse.
December 1348: With the country in the grip of the Black Death, brothers John and William fear that they will shortly die and go to hell. But as the end draws near, they are given an unexpected choice: either to go home and spend their last six days in their familiar world or to search for salvation across the forthcoming centuries - living each one of their remaining days 99 years after the last.
John and William choose the future and find themselves in 1447, ignorant of almost everything going on around them. The year 1546 brings no more comfort, and 1645 challenges them still further. It is not just that technology is changing: things they have taken for granted all their lives prove to be short-lived.
As they find themselves in stranger and stranger times, the listener travels with them, seeing the world through their eyes as it shifts through disease, progress, enlightenment and war. But their time is running out - can they do something to redeem themselves before the six days are up?

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Brilliant

I thoroughly enjoyed listening to this book. The authors use of language is outstanding and the unfolding story really immerses you in the different time periods. Rather sentimental of me I know, but I was really moved by the ending.
Read full review

- David J. Carpenter

Enjoyable listen and a good story

Any additional comments?

I really enjoyed this book and the way it wove together the various periods in history. The book has some pretty graphic descriptions of how people died from the plague and were left where they fell. Nice to read historical fiction that isn't a murder mystery.

Read full review

- Spiky Potplant

Book Details

  • Release Date: 16-06-2017
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK