With his four Harry Bosch novels, Michael Connelly joined "the top rank of a new generation of crime writers" ( Los Angeles Times). Now Connelly returns with his most searing thriller yet - a major new departure that recalls the best work of Thomas Harris ( Red Dragon, Silence of the Lambs) and James Patterson ( Along Came a Spider) Our hero is Jack McEvoy, a Rocky Mountain News crime-beat reporter. As the story opens, Jack's twin brother, a Denver homicide detective, has just killed himself. Or so it seems. But when Jack begins to investigate the phenomenon of police suicides, a disturbing pattern emerges, and soon suspects that a serial murderer is at work - a devious cop killer who's left a coast-to-coast trail of "suicide notes" drawn from the poems of Edgar Allan Poe. It's the story of a lifetime - except that "the Poet" already seems to know that Jack is trailing him. . .
Here is definitive proof that Michael Connelly is among the best suspense novelist working today.
©2004 Michael Connelly (P)2004 Brilliance Audio
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £25.59

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

Buy Now for £25.59

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By BH2Cherry on 24-12-12

A must if you are into the Harry Bosch series

This is a fantastic stand alone story. However, it is best enjoyed as a chronological part of the Harry Bosh series from the same author. My suggestion is to work your way through Michael Connelly's books by year of release not by the different character lists. Many of the characters appear in each others books and it is great to reacquaint yourself with characters you remember from previous stories. This book is by any comparison, one of the best of its genre.

Read more Hide me

18 of 19 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Bridie on 22-12-10


Interesting story though creepy. Serial killers and peadophiles make a toxic mix but it is easier to take because the main premise seems so over the top. The reader does a good job of conveying the separate characters and their emotions.

Read more Hide me

8 of 8 people found this review helpful

See all reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Charles Atkinson on 10-08-14

Great Villain Mystery

This story revolves around reporter Jack McEvoy and FBI agent Rachel Walling. While I read all of Connelly in order years ago, I actually listened to the sequel of The Poet, the Harry Bosch novel The Narrows, first. Even though I knew who the villain was this was a riveting story.

You don't have to listen to many of Connelly's novel in order, but it's essential to read the Poet first if you want maximum shock value.

A great audio experience...

Read more Hide me

56 of 59 people found this review helpful

4 out of 5 stars
By Tom on 12-07-12

Is Connelly the Best Crime Writer Or What?

Michael Connelly is a master. Connelly started out as a writer for a newspaper so it makes sense he would have a story about a reporter. I really like how he switched the point of view between Jack McEvoy (the reporter) and a creepy pedophile/murderer. At first there seems to be no connection in the storyline, but eventually it becomes apparant that these two are destined to clash. When I realized how early the book was was climaxing I was happy that my radar for the bad guy seemed to be intact. I was wrong.

Isn't it fun to read 20 year old books? People having to find pay phones, dial-up internet connections and no cell phone tracking.

Read more Hide me

53 of 56 people found this review helpful

See all reviews