The Poisoned Pilgrim : Hangman's Daughter

  • by Lee Chadeayne (translator), Oliver Pötzsch
  • Narrated by Grover Gardner
  • Series: Hangman's Daughter
  • 16 hrs and 29 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

1666: The monastery at Andrechs has long been a pilgrimage destination, but when the hangman's daughter, Magdalena; her doctor husband, Simon; and their two small children arrive there, they learn that the monks have far larger concerns than saying Mass and receiving alms. It seems that once again the hangman's family has fallen into a mysterious and dangerous adventure.
Two monks at the monastery experiment with cutting-edge technology, including a method of deflecting the lightning that has previously set the monastery ablaze. When one of the monks disappears and his lab is destroyed, foul play is suspected. Who better to investigate than the famed hangman Jakob Kuisl? But as the hangman and his family attempt to solve the mystery of the missing monk, they must deal with the eccentric denizens of the monastery and villagers who view the monks' inventions as witchcraft that must be destroyed at all costs.
This thrilling fourth entry in the Hangman's Daughter series features scheming monks, murderous robots, and the action and intrigue that never seem to cease when the Kuisls are on a case.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Brilliant work once more.

I love this series of books. The narrator suits the book perfectly and the book is impossible to turn off or put down if on paper. A historical novel spliced with real historical places and the author being related to the central characters lends it so much more credo and makes it quite difficult to believe that the storyline in itself has a large fictitious element. Anyone into history and murder mystery should give it a read.
Read full review


Excellent as always

Always a solid story with plenty of twists and turns. Good narration throughout. Love this series.
Read full review

- Amanda

Book Details

  • Release Date: 16-07-2013
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio