The Private Patient : Adam Dalgliesh

  • by P. D. James
  • Narrated by Daniel Weyman
  • Series: Adam Dalgliesh
  • 12 hrs and 39 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The fourteenth Adam Dalgliesh Mystery.
When the notorious investigative journalist, Rhoda Gradwyn, booked into Mr Chandler-Powell's private clinic in Dorset for the removal of a disfiguring and long-standing facial scar, she had every prospect of a successful operation by a distinguished surgeon, a week's peaceful convalescence in one of Dorset's most beautiful manor houses, and the beginning of a new life. She was never to leave Cheverell Manor alive.
Dalgliesh and his team are called in to investigate the murder, and later a second death, which are to raise even more complicated problems than the question of innocence or guilt.


What the Critics Say

"Elegantly phrased, plot-driven, multi-layered and laced with menace." (Observer)
"The Private Patient is classic James." (Allan Massie, Scotsman)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

An Unexpected Outcome

As always from this brilliant writer, the plot twists and turns before......, I'll not spoil the climax. I will say, listen carefully, don't miss any of the clues.
Read full review

- JPR Beader

Excellent narration

I've started listening to P D james only recently. I have enjoyed the stories and the sharp observance of the author.
One of the most important aspects to audio books is the narrator and Daniel Weyman is excellent. He demonstrates a wide range of characterisation in his narration. I am looking forward to my next P D James listen.
Read full review

- Carol Kent

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-12-2014
  • Publisher: Faber Audio