The Queen's Accomplice : Maggie Hope

  • by Susan Elia MacNeal
  • Narrated by Susan Duerden
  • Series: Maggie Hope
  • 10 hrs and 36 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Spy and code breaker extraordinaire Maggie Hope returns to war-weary London, where she is thrust into the dangerous hunt for a monster as the New York Times best-selling mystery series for fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Charles Todd, and Anne Perry continues.
England, 1942. The Nazis' relentless Blitz may have paused, but London's nightly blackouts continue. Now, under the cover of darkness, a madman is brutally killing and mutilating young women in eerie and exact re-creations of Jack the Ripper's crimes. What's more, he's targeting women who are reporting for duty to be Winston Churchill's spies and saboteurs abroad.
The officers at MI5 quickly realize they need the help of Special Agent Maggie Hope to find the killer dubbed "the Blackout Beast". A trap is set. But once the murderer has his sights on Maggie, not even Buckingham Palace can protect the resourceful spy from her fate.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Good if slightly stereotyped wartime mystery

Like the previous Maggie Hope mysteries, this is an enjoyable, easy listen. The plot smartly entwines several different strands, all set in 1940s London. As such the story is held back a little by trying to enforce its historical setting a little too much, and is certainly not the most realistic of books- but if you enjoy a good crime novel which follows the path of Agatha Christie this is probably for you.

One thing that really irritated me was the narrator's attempts at various accents. This is probably just a personal preference, but I found her attempt at a Scottish accents particularly inaccurate and annoying- and unfortunately one of the main characters is Scottish. This definitely detracted from the enjoyment of listening, though did not stop me finishing the book- so don't let that put you off unless you are particularly sensitive to accents!
Read full review

- Judith

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-10-2016
  • Publisher: Random House Audio