The Remains of an Altar : Merrily Watkins

  • by Phil Rickman
  • Narrated by Emma Powell
  • Series: Merrily Watkins
  • 14 hrs and 31 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Merrily Watkins, parish priest, single mother, and Deliverance Consultant, heads for the Malvern Hills to investigate an alleged paranormal dimension to a spate of road accidents. A revamped local pub has injected the valley with a shattering surge of inner-city nightlife and drugs. When a dealer is found savagely murdered below the great earthen hillfort of Herefordshire Beacon, police wonder if it is a gangland disposal, a cry of outrage - or something more sinister. Merrily and the police follow separate paths towards the truth until, on a night of frenzied violence, in a place at the centre of an ancient mystery, the final, shocking connections are made.


What the Critics Say

"First rate. A passionate, flawed modern woman, every bit as concerned with the intricacies of crime as with demons that go bump in the night." ( Daily Mail)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Land of Dope and Gory

?The Remains of an Altar' is the eighth in the Merrily Watkins series, and finds our favourite Vicar investigating ghostly sightings of the composer, Elgar. Things become complicated by the ritual slaying of a local drugs dealer and daughter Jane imposes her own brand of chaos into the mix (with a helping hand from Gomer) by taking on the council to prevent an ancient Ley (line) from being destroyed. As always, Rickman?s writing is eerily atmospheric and has a distinct `sense of place' - and traces of the dark folklore that once served him so well can still be found embedded deep in the background static of the novel. This is a great book, full of twists and unexpected drops into darkness - peppered throughout with sharp humour and self effacing irony.
Read full review

- A. Watson

The Remains of an Altar

I have tried many times to listen to this book but it fails to hold my attention
Read full review

- monica

Book Details

  • Release Date: 31-05-2007
  • Publisher: ISIS Audio Books