The Return of Sherlock Holmes III (Unabridged Selections)

  • by Arthur Conan Doyle
  • Narrated by David Timson
  • 4 hrs and 34 mins
  • highlights Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Once again Arthur Conan Doyle presents a series of cases which baffle the police, but are no match for Sherlock Holmes and his trusty companion, Dr. Watson.
In "Black Peter", the peace of rural Sussex is disturbed by the discovery of a seafarer's body pinned to the wall of his hut with a harpoon. In the "Golden Pince-Nez", a young man is found dead clutching a pair of spectacles, yet he had perfect sight. Who is the short-sighted murderer?
In the "Missing Three-Quarter", Holmes takes on a novel case when a Rugby player goes missing the day before a major University match. A woman tied to a chair; her husband clubbed to death with a poker; a case of robbery with violence? But all is not what it seems in the case of the "Abbey Grange".
The series ends with the "Second Stain" where a top secret document that could lead Britain into war goes missing. Holmes is put to the test to save his country as well as his reputation.
PLEASE NOTE: When you purchase this title, the accompanying reference material will be available in your My Library section along with the audio.


Audible Editor Reviews

In this excellent production, David Timson performs the five stories with flair. Timson's voice transports listeners from the first baffling case to the last - from London's 221B Baker Street to rural Sussex, where a seaman's body is found harpooned to a wall in "The Adventure of Black Peter," to the highest echelons of the British government in "The Adventure of the Second Stain," in which a missing secret document could lead to war. The stories, first published in The Strand magazine between 1903 and 1904, feature Holmes's protégé, Inspector Stanley Hopkins, as well as the ever-faithful Dr. Watson. This is top-notch audio.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 16-11-2005
  • Publisher: Naxos AudioBooks