Summary

The new novel by Luke Delaney, ex-Met detective and author of the terrifyingly authentic DI Sean Corrigan series. Perfect for fans of Mark Billingham, Peter James and Stuart MacBride.
Jack King is a sergeant on the Met's promotional fast-track. Tasked with catching whoever is preying on children on a notorious estate, he and his small team take on the challenge with gusto, determined to find the culprit and clean up the estate - gaining glory for themselves in the process.
But King soon finds himself in over his head: the local residents won't play ball, his superiors want results yesterday and he's refusing to admit that he's suffering from PTSD after attending a particularly traumatic crime scene. As the pressures combine, King finds himself on a downward spiral that will have devastating consequences.
©2016 Luke Delaney (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers Limited
Show More Show Less

Critic reviews

Praise for Luke Delaney: "A striking debut from a former Murder Squad Detective, Delaney is not his real name, but there is no doubt about his inside knowledge and ability to convey it." ( Daily Mail)
"A confident, aggressive and very promising debut by a former Met detective." ( The Times)
"An authentic voice on how the police operate with a stone-cold killer striking randomly around London...scary authenticity." ( The Sun)
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £14.49

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Buy Now for £14.49

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By avidreader on 09-08-16

unexpected ending

I enjoyed this story and the plot line was unusual. However, I did not enjoy the degree of swearing included and, even though this may be how they speak on the streets, it is not what I want to hear so much, hence the 4 stars. That said, it was not the usual cop story regurgitated so worth a try. I thought the narrator was good and added the different characterisations in a believable way.

Read more Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

3 out of 5 stars
By clare stewart on 19-09-16

The rule of fear

I really didn't think this was anywhere near as good as the other series written by the same author. It was about 7 hrs too long of a really longwinded drawn out far fetched storyline. It was rubbish!

Read more Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all reviews