• The Schumann Frequency

  • By: Christopher Ride
  • Narrated by: Sean Mangan
  • Length: 16 hrs and 38 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Release date: 31-10-08
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd
  • 4 out of 5 stars 4.2 (9 ratings)

Editor reviews

"Race against time" takes on a new meaning in this debut thriller from Christopher Ride. Time is unraveling, moving faster and faster, and a traveler from the future is sent to the present to fix it. Helena, a woman from the present day finds she has a psychic connection to this traveler, entangling her in the ensuing adventure with stops at some of the world's most interesting archaeological sites and the secrets they contain. With a sound basis in theoretical physics, natural phenomena, and the ancient world this audiobook will please fans of sci-fi, historical mystery, and action. Musician and voice actor Sean Mangan's deep-voiced lyrical performance is pensive, relishing the descriptive style and explanatory asides.
Show More Show Less

Summary

Fans of Dan Brown, Michael Crichton, and Clive Cussler will love this energetic debut novel. This fast-paced debut novel from the next big voice in Australian thrillers is a page-turner like no other.
Wilson Dowling is sent from the future to the present day to address the "Schumann Frequency", which has the power to slow the speed of time.
Clues buried deep within the Dead Sea Scrolls have made this Dowling's mission - he must open three energy portals hidden within the most famous archaeological sites on Earth. Wilson has to move quickly as forces of opposition mount against him, forces which threaten to unravel his mission and decide the fate of the entire planet.
An adventure not only through time and humanity, The Schumann Frequency races through various corners of the globe from the Mayan ruins in Mexico, to the Giza Pyramids in Egypt and finally Stonehenge for the book's thrilling climax. Christopher Ride takes you on a gripping journey that will keep you riveted until the very last page.
©2008 Christopher Ride (P)2007 Bolinda Publishing
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £26.29

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Buy Now for £26.29

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.
No Reviews are Available

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
1 out of 5 stars
By Saikungbob on 13-04-11

this is a book that begs for a negative rating

First, there is the book. Suddenly Dan Brown's books look tight, well-written and plausible -- by comparison. The language is painful, the leaps in the story incredible. When I though it couldn't get any worse, it did!

Then there is the narrator. I hope this was his first effort. In any case, I'd suggest that he not quit his day job. Of course, with material like this, I don't think anyone could do very well.

As I said in the subject line, this book deserves a negative rating. Save your money and time, give this book a miss.

Read more Hide me

5 of 7 people found this review helpful

1 out of 5 stars
By Donald Rodgers on 17-03-11

How can something this bad get so many 5 stars

Maybe I've been spoiled by so many excellent writers and narrators available at audible.com, but this was below my minimum expectations. The dialog was just awful -- it's hard to tell if that's the fault of the wooden narration or the author's inability to write convincing dialog. Much of the story that occurs in the current time is shockingly implausible but the description of the future is downright absurd: a mail-man delivering packages and letters, written books abounding, scientists using palm handhelds...

I've never seen such a high percentage of 5 starts (6/8) for any audio book (especially with the other reviews panning the work). You should wonder about the authenticity of those 5 start reviews.

Read more Hide me

4 of 6 people found this review helpful

See all reviews