The Sleeper

  • by Emily Barr
  • Narrated by Imogen Church
  • 12 hrs and 54 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A tense, gripping psychological thriller, with Hitchcockian overtones, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Sophie Hannah and Rosamund Lupton.
Lara Finch is living a lie.
Everyone thinks she has a happy life in Cornwall, married to the devoted Sam, but in fact she is desperately bored. When she is offered a new job that involves commuting to London by sleeper train, she meets Guy and starts an illicit affair. But then Lara vanishes from the night train without a trace. Only her friend Iris disbelieves the official version of events, and sets out to find her.
For Iris, it is the start of a voyage that will take her further than she's ever travelled and on to a trail of old crimes and dark secrets. For Lara, it is the end of a journey that started a long time ago. A journey she must finish, before it destroys her....
Emily Barr is the well-loved author of the best-selling Backpack, the original backpacking novel, and 10 other highly acclaimed novels. A former journalist, she has travelled around the world and written columns and travel pieces for the Observer and the Guardian.

More

What the Critics Say

“Thrillingly sinister… Single White Female with a twist, only far, far less predictable” (The Guardian on Stranded)
“Sleep-sabotagingly moreish” (Cosmopolitan)
“Gripping escapism” (Red)
“We can’t praise Emily Barr’s novels enough; they’re fresh, original and hugely readable” (Glamour)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Excellent.

Was initially discouraged from listening to this book on reading a bad review; this has certainly taught me that, though we are entitled to our own opinion, sometimes it is worth giving a book a try despite being put off. I am so glad I did!

Excellent suspense thriller, with a well written story and an excellent plot. (No spoilers here!)

The reason I found this book is because I was looking for another read by Imogen Church. As I discovered in the previous book I listened to read by her, I cannot speak highly enough of her narration. She is very easy to listen to and has a lovely tone of voice and accent. Ideal for reading any kind of book. I will certainly carry on listening to any further books, in the genre I enjoy, narrated by Imogen. If I was an author, I would request it be read by this narrator without question.
Read full review

- Vanessa

Chick Lit thriller

Would you try another book written by Emily Barr or narrated by Imogen Church?

Never. Quite how she's been published I do not know. If Cecelia Aherne wrote trashy thrillers this would be the outcome.


What was most disappointing about Emily Barr’s story?

Characterisation. She's gone at it with a sledgehammer. There's a line about coffee in the book that literally made me cringe. Read it yourself to discover the horribly flaccid metaphor, bleurgh!


How could the performance have been better?

By the reader deciding not to play every male character as a dope or a spiv.


What character would you cut from The Sleeper?

The lead, Lara, what a wet weekend she is. And her husband Sam. Oh, where to start?!


Any additional comments?

The Sleeper is the kind of novel that makes me feel like I should take up writing, as I'm certain it'd be better than this drivel. The reality is I'd be crap, but seriously does one really want such nonsensical thoughts passing through ones grey matter when one is trying to enjoy a story?

Read full review

- Robert

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-07-2013
  • Publisher: Audible Studios