The Sleeper

  • by Emily Barr
  • Narrated by Imogen Church
  • 12 hrs and 54 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A tense, gripping psychological thriller, with Hitchcockian overtones, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Sophie Hannah and Rosamund Lupton.
Lara Finch is living a lie.
Everyone thinks she has a happy life in Cornwall, married to the devoted Sam, but in fact she is desperately bored. When she is offered a new job that involves commuting to London by sleeper train, she meets Guy and starts an illicit affair. But then Lara vanishes from the night train without a trace. Only her friend Iris disbelieves the official version of events, and sets out to find her.
For Iris, it is the start of a voyage that will take her further than she's ever travelled and on to a trail of old crimes and dark secrets. For Lara, it is the end of a journey that started a long time ago. A journey she must finish, before it destroys her....
Emily Barr is the well-loved author of the best-selling Backpack, the original backpacking novel, and 10 other highly acclaimed novels. A former journalist, she has travelled around the world and written columns and travel pieces for the Observer and the Guardian.

More

What the Critics Say

"Thrillingly sinister... Single White Female with a twist, only far, far less predictable" (The Guardian on Stranded)
"Sleep-sabotagingly moreish" (Cosmopolitan)
"Gripping escapism" (Red)
"We can't praise Emily Barr's novels enough; they're fresh, original and hugely readable" (Glamour)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Chick Lit thriller

Would you try another book written by Emily Barr or narrated by Imogen Church?

Never. Quite how she's been published I do not know. If Cecelia Aherne wrote trashy thrillers this would be the outcome.


What was most disappointing about Emily Barr’s story?

Characterisation. She's gone at it with a sledgehammer. There's a line about coffee in the book that literally made me cringe. Read it yourself to discover the horribly flaccid metaphor, bleurgh!


How could the performance have been better?

By the reader deciding not to play every male character as a dope or a spiv.


What character would you cut from The Sleeper?

The lead, Lara, what a wet weekend she is. And her husband Sam. Oh, where to start?!


Any additional comments?

The Sleeper is the kind of novel that makes me feel like I should take up writing, as I'm certain it'd be better than this drivel. The reality is I'd be crap, but seriously does one really want such nonsensical thoughts passing through ones grey matter when one is trying to enjoy a story?

Read full review

- Robert

Fantastic!

What made the experience of listening to The Sleeper the most enjoyable?

The narrator was superb. Her ability to perform each part so believably aided my enjoyment immensely.


Who was your favorite character and why?

My favourite character was Iris, she was very believable and warm, with immense likeability. She embodied all that is wonderful in true friendship, loyalty, a sense of humour and honesty. I would like a friend like Iris.


Which character – as performed by Imogen Church – was your favourite?

Olivia. Imogen's accent and acting ability is second to none. The tone of her voice summed up Olivia's difficult and dogmatic personality and her moodiness and sulkiness.


Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

No, I was happy to listen to it in chunks, however, it only took me 3 days to complete it, as I was keen to keep following the plot development. The story really does have you sitting on the edge of your seat, and although it was slightly laboured at times, I enjoyed it tremendously.


Any additional comments?

Absolutely fantastic book, and one I would recommend. I will certainly be reading more by this author.

Read full review

- S. Christie "Mum of three. Lover of mysteries and thrillers, shoes, genealogy and walking."

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-07-2013
  • Publisher: Audible Studios