Summary

A tense, gripping psychological thriller, with Hitchcockian overtones, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Sophie Hannah and Rosamund Lupton.
Lara Finch is living a lie.
Everyone thinks she has a happy life in Cornwall, married to the devoted Sam, but in fact she is desperately bored. When she is offered a new job that involves commuting to London by sleeper train, she meets Guy and starts an illicit affair. But then Lara vanishes from the night train without a trace. Only her friend Iris disbelieves the official version of events, and sets out to find her.
For Iris, it is the start of a voyage that will take her further than she's ever travelled and on to a trail of old crimes and dark secrets. For Lara, it is the end of a journey that started a long time ago. A journey she must finish, before it destroys her....
Emily Barr is the well-loved author of the best-selling Backpack, the original backpacking novel, and 10 other highly acclaimed novels. A former journalist, she has travelled around the world and written columns and travel pieces for the Observer and the Guardian.
©2013 Emily Barr (P)2013 Audible Ltd
Show More Show Less

Critic reviews

“Thrillingly sinister… Single White Female with a twist, only far, far less predictable” (The Guardian on Stranded)
“Sleep-sabotagingly moreish” (Cosmopolitan)
“Gripping escapism” (Red)
“We can’t praise Emily Barr’s novels enough; they’re fresh, original and hugely readable” (Glamour)
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £18.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Buy Now for £18.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Vanessa on 22-02-14

Excellent.

Was initially discouraged from listening to this book on reading a bad review; this has certainly taught me that, though we are entitled to our own opinion, sometimes it is worth giving a book a try despite being put off. I am so glad I did!

Excellent suspense thriller, with a well written story and an excellent plot. (No spoilers here!)

The reason I found this book is because I was looking for another read by Imogen Church. As I discovered in the previous book I listened to read by her, I cannot speak highly enough of her narration. She is very easy to listen to and has a lovely tone of voice and accent. Ideal for reading any kind of book. I will certainly carry on listening to any further books, in the genre I enjoy, narrated by Imogen. If I was an author, I would request it be read by this narrator without question.

Read more Hide me

51 of 53 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By L on 01-09-13

Gripping

a very exciting listen. It kept me wondering until the very end. I happened to be listening in the place where the final scene was set so it was spookily realistic !

Read more Hide me

14 of 15 people found this review helpful

See all reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
2 out of 5 stars
By MM on 24-08-16

Don't waste a credit

Any additional comments?

I listened to this book on a road trip or I would've returned it about an hour into it. It took 15 chapters to get slightly interesting. Then after all was said and done it was not a good story line! Felt like the book really dragged on and on. I wouldn't recommend it.

Read more Hide me

75 of 79 people found this review helpful

3 out of 5 stars
By ilene on 15-09-15

Disappointing

Very enjoyable throughout - had to listen constantly, which is why the end was so frustrating . The last two hours moved so slowly and had so much filler that I had to fast forward periodically. This change was very noticeable from the rest of the book. Instead of coming to a satisfying ending with the same intensity that it had all along, it came to a slow flat end.

Read more Hide me

102 of 108 people found this review helpful

See all reviews