The Summer That Never Was

  • by Peter Robinson
  • Narrated by Neil Pearson
  • 4 hrs and 6 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A skeleton has been unearthed. Soon the body is identified, and the horrific discovery hits the headlines. Fourteen-year-old Graham Marshall went missing during his paper round in 1965. The police found no trace of him. His disappearance left his family shattered, and his best friend, Alan Banks, full of guilt. That friend has now become Chief Inspector Alan Banks, and he is determined to bring justice for Graham. But he soon realises that in this case, the boundary between victim and perpetrator, between law-guardian and law-breaker, is becoming more and more blurred.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Inspector Banks revisits his past

I've enjoyed many of Peter Robinson's Inspector Banks novels. I haven't read/listened to them in chronological order, but recall that somewhere along the line I knew that his boyhood friend, Graham Marshall, had disappeared without trace and that there was something connected with this event that haunted Banks well into his adult life. In this book you'll discover the truth about the disappearance and go with Banks to re-visit some of his childhood haunts. It's good abridgment that didn't leave me feeling that much had been edited out and, as usual, Neil Pearson, brings the book alive with his excellent reading.
Read full review

- Kirstine

Book Details

  • Release Date: 13-06-2007
  • Publisher: Pan Macmillan Publishers Ltd.