The Sunday Philosophy Club : Sunday Philosophy Club

  • by Alexander McCall Smith
  • Narrated by Hilary Neville
  • Series: Sunday Philosophy Club
  • 7 hrs and 39 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Amateur sleuth Isabel Dalhousie is a philosopher who uses her training to solve unusual mysteries. She edits the Review of Applied Ethics and hosts The Sunday Philosophy Club at her house in Edinburgh. Behind the city's Georgian facades its moral compasses are spinning with greed, dishonesty and murderous intent. Instinct tells Isabel that the young man who tumbled to his death in front of her eyes at a concert didn't fall. He was pushed. With Isabel Dalhousie, Alexander Mccall Smith introduces a new and pneumatic female sleuth to tackle murder, mayhem - and the mysteries of life.


What the Critics Say

"Vintage McCall Smith, written with a characteristic twinkle in his eye and the graceful clarity of an aesthetically attuned lawyer." (The Herald)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


What did you like best about The Sunday Philosophy Club? What did you like least?

The book was well read but having recently listened to, and thoroughly enjoyed, the 44 Scotland St series of books I found the reference to crushed strawberry trousers and Peplow's paintings and others rather repetitive themes. I expected this series to be totally different. Had I listened to this book first I probably wouldn't have bothered to listen to the 44 Scotland Street series which would have been a big loss.

Has The Sunday Philosophy Club put you off other books in this genre?

I won't listen to the rest of this series. It was rather bland with repetitive themes from 44 Scotland St

What about Hilary Neville’s performance did you like?

Excellently read and very easy to listen too

Do you think The Sunday Philosophy Club needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?

No. But I am very much looking forward to poor Bertie's development in the in the 44 Scotland St series

Read full review

- fiona

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-08-2008
  • Publisher: ISIS Audio Books