The Vanishing Box : The Stephens and Mephisto Mystery

  • by Elly Griffiths
  • Narrated by Luke Thompson
  • Series: The Stephens and Mephisto Mystery
  • 8 hrs and 11 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

What do a murdered Brighton flower seller, the death of Cleopatra and a nude tableau show have in common? One thing's for sure - it could be the most dangerous case yet for Stephens and Mephisto.
The fourth Stephens and Mephisto mystery from the author of the best-selling Dr Ruth Galloway series - a must-listen for fans of Bryant and May.
Christmas 1953. Max Mephisto and his daughter, Ruby, are headlining Brighton Hippodrome, an achievement only slightly marred by the less-than-savoury support act: a tableau show of naked 'living statues'.
This might appear to have nothing in common with DI Edgar Stephens' investigation into the death of a quiet flower seller, but if there's one thing the old comrades have learned it's that in Brighton, the line between art and life - and death - is all too easily blurred....

More

What the Critics Say

"Mixes cosiness and sharpness in a way that recalls the best of Agatha Christie." (Sunday Express on Smoke and Mirrors)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Wonderful period detail

I love this series of books, and this one did not disappoint. Good story with great period details. Love the theatrical background, landladies and boarding houses. The characters are interesting and likeable. It is set in the winter and Elly even manages to make you feel cold. You can read this on it’s own but I recommend you read the series in order.
Read full review

- Joy

Another excellent adventure

The stories get more mature with each book. I didn't guess the perpetrator at all.
Read full review

- Claire Kendall-Price

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-11-2017
  • Publisher: Quercus