The Wild Inside : Glacier Mysteries

  • by Christine Carbo
  • Narrated by R. C. Bray
  • Series: Glacier Mysteries
  • 13 hrs and 1 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Louise Penny, C. J. Box, and Nevada Barr comes a haunting crime novel set in Glacier National Park, where one man finds himself on a collision course with the dark heart of the wild and the even darker heart of human nature.
It was a clear, starry night in Glacier National Park. Fourteen-year-old Ted Systead and his father were camping peacefully beneath the rugged peaks and sweeping sky when the unimaginable happened: Ted's father was mauled by a grizzly bear and dragged to his death.
Now, 20 years later, as a special agent for the Department of the Interior, Ted is called back to investigate a crime that echoes the horror of that night. Only this time the victim was tied to a tree before the animal's attack. Ted teams up with one of the park officers - a man named Monty, whose pleasant exterior masks an all-too-vivid knowledge of the area. Residents of the nearby community are less than forthcoming. Suspicious of outsiders and intimately connected to the wilderness that surrounds them, they confront their fellow man and nature with equal measures of reverence and brutality. As the days pass with no clear answers, not only is human life at stake but so too is that of a majestic creature who carries with it valuable evidence. Ted's search for truth takes him far into the wilderness, on the trail of a killer, and eventually to a shocking and unexpectedly personal conclusion.
Rich in atmosphere and evocative, lush descriptions, The Wild Inside is a gripping debut novel about the wondrously perilous intersection between man and nature.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

The Wild Inside - an unexpected gem of a read

The Wild Inside - an unexpected gem of a read
Don't expect to enjoy this book as much as I did, really enjoyable.
Suspense book that had me fooled until the very end,
with a great taste of the great outdoors of Montana.
R C Bray a great narrator will definitely being looking out for more
books narrated by him & written by Christine Carbo
Read full review

- MAGGS

Something Refreshingly Different

Having read a lot of detective thrillers over the years I can say that this one offers something just a little different. the key difference of course is the setting which is brought to life well in Carbo's text. The juxtaposition of modern humanity with the wilderness of Glacier Park offers many interesting scenarios. Issues around tourism and ecological sustainability are in a delicate balance and are highlighted well in the text.

It brings a new life to cliched scenes from the genre such as the grisly autopsy . . . and their will be few more grisly than the one in this! When scene of crime examinations have to take into account things like the shape of bear footprints it certainly adds a little something.

Carbo has imagined an interesting lead for her stories. Ted Systead has a great backstory and his character and the others are sympathetically developed. RC Bray, perhaps showing a slightly softer side than his usual delivers the top-notch quality that I've now come to take for granted of him.

Overall though, it's not hugely fast-paced and I didn't feel a great sense of suspense. The key reason to invest in this series is that the setting and characters are just a bit different and they do add considerable interest.
Read full review

- Simon

Book Details

  • Release Date: 16-06-2015
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.