The Wolf Children : CI Frank Stave

  • by Cay Rademacher
  • Narrated by Mark Meadows
  • Series: CI Frank Stave
  • 10 hrs and 48 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Hamburg 1947: It is the year of extremes. After a bitterly cold winter of starvation, the bombed city groans under excruciating heat. And Chief Inspector Frank Stave is confronted with a new case. In the ruins of a shipyard, the corpse of a boy is found and Stave's hunt for the killer leads him into the world of "wolf children" - orphaned children who have fled from the Occupied Eastern Territories and are now united in gangs. When two more bodies are discovered Stave is under even increasing pressure as he struggles to keep his personal life together too....


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Frank Stave's Next Adventure is about to Begin

This is Cay Rademacher's Second novel in the Frank Stave Series. In this book, Stave has been asked to investigate the deaths of several children, the first was found in a storage shed at the Hamburg port having been stabbed, during the course of the book two other children were to die. The question is why? Set in the British Control Zone of Germany in 1947. There are children roaming the streets, having lost there parents during allied bombing raids. The Children, known as "Wolf Children" live rough in the ruins of the city, do what ever they can to make ends meet, usually involving some connection to the city's black market. Stave is keen to solve the case, particularly, after the death of one of the children, an under-age prostitute, who has become tangled up in the saga. Stave of course has much besides the case on his mind, his son, Karl has been missing since the end of the war, is he still alive? If he is, where is he? Stave has recently started a relationship and he worries about how Karl will react.

The Wolf Children, is a great second novel, a worthy follow up to his debut, Murderer in the Ruins. The book has many inter-woven strands which makes the Wolf Children an engaging read, It develops the characters from the first book, particularly James C McDonald, a British Army Officer who has been called upon again to assist Stave with his enquiries. I'm looking forward to Stave's next outing - hopefully, it won't be a long wait

Read full review

- Dan Rose

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-08-2017
  • Publisher: Audible Studios