To Kingdom Come : Barker & Llewelyn Series

  • by Will Thomas
  • Narrated by Antony Ferguson
  • Series: Barker & Llewelyn Series
  • 9 hrs and 1 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

When a bomb destroys the Special Irish Branch of Scotland Yard, all fingers point to the increasingly brazen factions of Irish dissidents seeking liberation from English rule. Volunteering their services to the British government, Cyrus Barker and Thomas Llewelyn set out to infiltrate a secret cell of the Irish Republican Brotherhood known as the Invisibles. Posing as a reclusive German bomb maker and his anarchist apprentice, they are recruited for the group's ultimate plan: to bring London to its knees and end the monarchy forever.
Their adventures take them from an abandoned lighthouse on the craggy coast of Wales to the City of Light, where Llewelyn goes undercover with Maire O'Casey, the alluring sister of an Irish radical. Llewelyn again finds himself put to the test by his enigmatic employer as he is schooled in the deadly science of bomb making. Fraught with explosives, secret initiations, and vicious stick fights, and featuring historical figures such as Charles Parnell and W. B. Yeats, To Kingdom Come is a riveting sequel to Some Danger Involved.


What the Critics Say

"A successful blend of fiction and fact, this is - as expected - expertly researched and skillfully plotted, with satisfying amounts of emotion (with a growing friendship between Barker and Llewelyn) and suspense." ( Library Journal)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Someone Call Llewelyn an Ambulance!

This series already feels like it is settling down into a familiar and comfortable rhythm. The narration is smoothly consistent and the two main characters continue to develop and share a good chemistry. I was a little surprised that after the first book seemed to spend quite some time introducing an impressive array of characters in London very few of them made more than a small dent in this storyline which largely takes place outside of the capital.

That storyline is enjoyable though and we are introduced to another set of very interesting characters as Thomas delves into a terrorist plot. Once again he demonstrates that some of the problems that are besetting the modern world are actually nothing new except perhaps in scale and effect.

If things do carry on this way poor Llewellyn is going to have one of the most bruised and battered bodies in fiction. The book starts and ends with him in dire straits and he takes quite a battering in between.

I don't think this series will be everyone's cup of tea but I think if you liked the first book this one should also please and I'm going to enjoy sipping from it occasionally as it unfolds further.
Read full review

- Simon

OK for a easy listening crime novel.

I like the narrator but I felt he struggled somewhat with the Irish accent, which I found a little annoying (may just be me).

Story is fine, nothing fantastical but a good enough plot and you care about the two main characters.

So overall I'd rate OK and would listen to another in the series.
Read full review

- Kat

Book Details

  • Release Date: 27-12-2016
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio