Try Not to Breathe

  • by Holly Seddon
  • Narrated by Jot Davies, Lucy Middleweek, Katy Sobey
  • 11 hrs and 6 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Gillian Flynn, Laura Lippman, and Paula Hawkins comes Holly Seddon's arresting fiction debut: an engrossing thriller full of page-turning twists and turns, richly imagined characters, and gripping psychological suspense.
Some secrets never die. They're just locked away.
Alex Dale is lost. Destructive habits have cost her a marriage and a journalism career. All she has left is her routine: a morning run until her body aches, then a few hours of forgettable work before the past grabs hold and drags her down. Every day is treading water, every night is drowning. Until Alex discovers Amy Stevenson. Amy Stevenson, who was just another girl from a nearby town until the day she was found after a merciless assault. Amy Stevenson, who has been in a coma for fifteen years, forgotten by the world. Who, unbeknownst to her doctors, remains locked inside her body, conscious but paralysed, reliving the past.
Soon Alex's routine includes visiting hours at the hospital, then interviews with the original suspects in the attack. But what starts as a reporter's story becomes a personal obsession. How do you solve a crime when the only witness lived, but cannot tell the tale? Unable to tear herself away from uncovering the unspeakable truth, Alex realises she's not just chasing a story she's seeking salvation.
Shifting from present to past and back again, Try Not to Breathe unfolds layer by layer until its heart-stopping conclusion. The result is an utterly immersive, unforgettable debut.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Don't believe the hype!

I honestly have no idea how this book has so many great reviews. The story was uninteresting, had a predictable ending was and without any real climax to keep the readers hooked. Don't waste 9+ hours listening to this
Read full review

- Karmen

If you can get over annoying irritating inflections in speech of two readers it's worth listening to.

I almost gave up after a couple of hours simply because of the male narrator's irritatingly inflection in his voice. When he was 'into ' his character this was less obvious , he's actually a good reader with lots of colour and expression , but I won't buy another audible book with him reading. When I first heard the female journalist's voice I thought 'oh no! Same inflection " I figured whoever picked the two readers must like this kind of voice. The voice of the 'girl' was excellent . To me if the voices aren't to my liking I find it hard to enjoy. The story was okay, easy listening , worth reading even with it's fairly abrupt ending . Nothing special but glad I got to end. It's not in the same ball park of Gillian Flynn or Paula Hawkins but perfect to entertain when doing something mundane - long drive , ironing etc...
Read full review

- Pete

Book Details

  • Release Date: 21-03-2016
  • Publisher: Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd