Warlord : Alex Hawke

  • by Ted Bell
  • Narrated by John Shea
  • Series: Alex Hawke
  • 16 hrs and 52 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Alex Hawke has all but given up on life. The British-American MI6 counterterrorism operative lost the woman he loved almost a year ago and has sought refuge at the bottom of a rum bottle ever since. But late one night at his home on Bermuda, he receives a wake-up call... literally.
His Royal Highness Prince Charles, an old friend, desperately needs his help. The prince has discovered a not-so-subtle threat directed toward the British royal family. What’s more, the evidence reveals an ominous connection to Charles’s godfather, Lord Mountbatten - the beloved family patriarch assassinated by an ingeniously designed bomb 30 years before. A shadowy figure from the past has the British crown in his sights, and has proven once before that his warnings are not to be taken lightly. Several clues point to IRA involvement, but the authorities have little to go on and answers are scarce. This is just the call to duty Hawke needs to get back into action - if the madman doesn’t strike first.

More

What the Critics Say

"Bell's fine sixth thriller featuring swashbuckling British spy Alex Hawke mixes action and suspense with just the right amount of humor and old-fashioned boys-book adventure." (Publishers Weekly)
“A James Bondish adventure brought up to date…. A meaty, entertaining thriller…just the thing for fans of Ludlum, Trevanian and Fleming.” (Kirkus Reviews)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Don't waste a credit....

I do not normally leave reviews but this audio book is so poor it drove me to the keyboard.

The characters are totally unbelievable,the narration is awful, although I will give John Shea a by ball due to the appalling drivel he had to work with. It is obviously written by an American for an American audience as everything historical is explained in detail (often inaccurate) in a manner you would tell a child, assuming no knowledge of anything. The flimsy plot line makes you cringe and the description of action is unrealistic and boring. The main character, modelled on James Bond apparently is supposed to be 33 yet he is made out to be the life long friend of a series of characters who are all pensioners and everyone in authority is a lord or rich country gent.

This was all in the first two hours. I gave up when I had an overwhelming complusion to throw my Ipod out the window.

Maybe I have missed the joke with this book,maybe I gave up too early, I dont know,all I have to say is, do not waste your money or a credit on this rubbish.
Read full review

- Keith

a pale imitation

This book is in the style of a Jack Higgens/Sean Dillon story. The American narrator made a good effort but one or two elementary errors let him down.I listened right to the end while in the car but couldn't recommend it.Apart from the interesting idea of reattributing a series of past events to a new evil mastermind it is very stereotyped and there are no realistic characters.
Read full review

- Kay

Book Details

  • Release Date: 17-09-2010
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio