• Warlord

  • An Alex Hawke Thriller
  • By: Ted Bell
  • Narrated by: John Shea
  • Series: Alex Hawke, Book 6
  • Length: 16 hrs and 52 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Release date: 17-09-10
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio
  • 2.5 out of 5 stars 2.5 (6 ratings)

Summary

Alex Hawke has all but given up on life. The British-American MI6 counterterrorism operative lost the woman he loved almost a year ago and has sought refuge at the bottom of a rum bottle ever since. But late one night at his home on Bermuda, he receives a wake-up call... literally.
His Royal Highness Prince Charles, an old friend, desperately needs his help. The prince has discovered a not-so-subtle threat directed toward the British royal family. What’s more, the evidence reveals an ominous connection to Charles’s godfather, Lord Mountbatten - the beloved family patriarch assassinated by an ingeniously designed bomb 30 years before. A shadowy figure from the past has the British crown in his sights, and has proven once before that his warnings are not to be taken lightly. Several clues point to IRA involvement, but the authorities have little to go on and answers are scarce. This is just the call to duty Hawke needs to get back into action - if the madman doesn’t strike first.
Take another thrill ride with Alex Hawke.
©2010 Brilliance Audio, Inc.
Show More Show Less

Critic reviews

"Bell's fine sixth thriller featuring swashbuckling British spy Alex Hawke mixes action and suspense with just the right amount of humor and old-fashioned boys-book adventure." ( Publishers Weekly)
“A James Bondish adventure brought up to date…. A meaty, entertaining thriller…just the thing for fans of Ludlum, Trevanian and Fleming.” ( Kirkus Reviews)
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £26.49

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

Buy Now for £26.49

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
1 out of 5 stars
By Keith on 01-10-10

Don't waste a credit....

I do not normally leave reviews but this audio book is so poor it drove me to the keyboard.

The characters are totally unbelievable,the narration is awful, although I will give John Shea a by ball due to the appalling drivel he had to work with. It is obviously written by an American for an American audience as everything historical is explained in detail (often inaccurate) in a manner you would tell a child, assuming no knowledge of anything. The flimsy plot line makes you cringe and the description of action is unrealistic and boring. The main character, modelled on James Bond apparently is supposed to be 33 yet he is made out to be the life long friend of a series of characters who are all pensioners and everyone in authority is a lord or rich country gent.

This was all in the first two hours. I gave up when I had an overwhelming complusion to throw my Ipod out the window.

Maybe I have missed the joke with this book,maybe I gave up too early, I dont know,all I have to say is, do not waste your money or a credit on this rubbish.

Read more Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

3 out of 5 stars
By Buddhawicca on 27-02-18

Ruined by the reader

This is my 1st (& probably last) audiobook as it was ruined by the American reader pronouncing everything in ‘American English’.
I winced constantly throughout the book and was grinding my teeth throughout.

Read more Hide me
See all reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
3 out of 5 stars
By G.Monie on 11-07-13

Typical Alex Hawke, Wanna be Bond...

This book was one of my favorites even though the suspension of disbelief must be pretty high, this book & 'Pirate' are not bad & 'Tsar' rounds it out to the top 3 I think in the Bond Wanna-be books... Stokley is still the coolest character, any large special forces black man the size of an armoire with an extremely funny sense of humor. Since all the Hawke books are average comparable speaking to most other books of this Genre I'm going to write a small spoiler, I would borrow 'Tsar' from the library just to hear John Shea's voice for Vlad Putin & the conversation he has with Hawke in Energetica

This book is not bad because its the book that comes right after 'Tsar' & how he ends up coping with what happens in that particular book & what it takes to get him back in the saddle or his Aston again... seriously, some people say he's not a bond wanna-be? The only reason he isn't is because he needs the other characters to get his jobs done, everyone from the family butler since he was a child, to Stokley Jones, to Harry Brock, to Congrieve... The concept of this book is OK although I don't think it would ever happen with the type of security a country like England has nowadays... Also the way America just trusts him is takes some suspension of disbelief because America is all about its own, it doesn't want a James Bond it wants a John Rambo lol...

The book does reveal where Hawke gets his hatred towards certain people & his past regarding his family & what happened to them... so if u were wondering about that, its revealed in this book, I would recommend this book for purely entertaining purposes... u will not venture into ur inner thoughts or give u a smile for revealing what family is all about... its a James Bond like book that will end like they all do... Hawke lives by the way *** spoiler lol ***

Read more Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

3 out of 5 stars
By Jose on 10-11-10

Entertaining

The plot is simple and entertaining but sometimes the author makes it difficult to follow by sudden jumps from past to present. For this type of novel, some situations are hard to believe as plausible, but is good reading. The narration by Mr. Shea was excellent.

Read more Hide me

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

See all reviews