Where Roses Never Die : Varg Veum

  • by Gunnar Staalesen
  • Narrated by Colin Mace
  • Series: Varg Veum
  • 8 hrs and 26 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

September 1977. Mette Misvãr, a three-year-old girl, disappears without trace from the sandpit outside her home.
Her tiny, close middle-class community in the tranquil suburb of Nordas is devastated, but their enquiries and the police produce nothing. Curtains twitch, suspicions are raised, but Mette is never found.
Almost 25 years later, as the expiry date for the statute of limitations draws near, Mette's mother approaches PI Varg Veum in a last, desperate attempt to find out what happened to her daughter. As Veum starts to dig, he uncovers an intricate web of secrets, lies and shocking events that have been methodically concealed.
When another brutal incident takes place, a pattern begins to emerge.
Chilling, shocking and full of extraordinary twists and turns, Where Roses Never Die reaffirms Gunnar Staalesen as one of the world's foremost thriller writers.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

The devil is in the detail

Any additional comments?

In the physics of madness, a pebble can start a landslide. For this story, one small incident sets in motion in the mind of an insane person, a course of action which causes years of misery for so many others. What I love about this author is that there are no carelessly plotted story lines or even sentences. Even the description of shared coffee is delightful and begs to be re-read and re-examined for underlying clues. This book was my find of the year.

Read full review

- Barbara

I really enjoyed this one!

I was a bit luke warm about this purchase and bought it on a whim. I was very pleasantly surprised.

Varg Veum is an alcoholic, and I had become jaded when the lead character was falling in and out of inebriation, becoming aggressive and nasty in the event. Varg isn't portrayed as such, he is trying to fight the battle, yet it isn't the whole character of the man. I found him tenacious and rather likeable.

The story was excellent, and I didn't expect the ending until we were practically there. The characters were dealt with in a sympathetic way, and most were more or less likeable.

I thought that Colin Mace made a fine job of the narration. I really did enjoy this book.

Read full review

- mollyeyre

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-06-2016
  • Publisher: Audible Studios